We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, rich breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Euro Hostel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“Nice staff, rich breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed i
Here on night in 8 bed female dorm. The room was clean, the bathroom a bit dirty, but i arrived at 9 pm and left inthe morning so its problably wasnt the staffs fault. The breakfast in the bar was very rich and lovely. I cam suggest!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Reka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Reka C

Thanks for reviewing Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.

I was please to see that you had enjoyed your stay and in particular, the efforts we have made in improving our breakfast offering with the unlimited hot and cold buffet.

Thanks also for pointing out the issue with the shower room but also realising that there were other guests in the dorm who had checked in much earlier in the day.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    130
    71
    42
    50
See reviews for
31
31
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 5 other guys over 2 rooms for a Friday and a Saturday night.

Our room was spacious and set out better than our friends room even though they slept the same number of people. The room was longer with a window at the front of the building so if you can get that, great. The hostel was clean and beds comfy. It attaches to a bar that serves breakfast and food with nice big screens, a pool table and friendly atmosphere.

My only gripe was that despite being well behaved throughout, the lady on check in and the gent that checked us out didn't smile at all and talked in a condescending manner. This seems to be the general theme for reviews on this place and should be something easily fixed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Adrian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi 19Adrian87

Thanks for sparing the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was very pleased to note your positive comments on the facilities available at the Hostel and The Ware Rooms.

Thanks also for your comments on check in. I will ensure this feedback is communicated back to our Front Desk team and I'm sure you will experience a friendlier approach on your next visit.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for a friend a birthday in June last year. Very good value for money, stayed in a room for 7 which was fairly small In size but good value for what we paid.

Bar was brilliant and good atmosphere to start the night on the town.

Staff were friendly and helpful and haven't got a bad word to say. As for location if you know your way around Newcastle it is literally a ten minute walk from the hectic night life so any stag do's/hen nights don't sweat this location is perfect and there will be a few groups similar.

Overall would happily stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Steve C

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay with Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to read your comments on the stay and the team and it was great to note, judging by your feedback, that you appeared to enjoy all the facilities at Euro Hostel and The Ware Rooms.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Newcastle in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my other half and my 2 friends. Just thought it's cheap and looks ok from website etc. Staff were very helpful and looked after our bags as we couldn't check in until 3pm but didn't want to carry our bags around for the few hours. Checked in fine, room was fine - what you'd expect for the price really. Had a tv and room for 5 even though there was 4 of us so that's nice. Bathroom was ok - small and simple and seemed clean enough. Bar joined to the Hostel was great, lovely atmosphere and drinks were cheap and lots to choose from. The one thing that REALLY let this place down was the paper thin walls in the room. We went to bed about midnight and at about 1 or 2am the noise (and I mean RACKET) started from our neighbours - the numerous Stags and Hens that were very drunk. In the rooms around us and out in the hallway... And they shouted and screamed and played loud music and it went on and on until about 5am when they were eventually threatened to be thrown out of the hostel by the staff. They were told to quieten down maybe a few times during the night but they took no notice until about 5am. But by then we had got hardly any sleep and we were very unhappy. It was such a shame as everything else here was lovely. The breakfast was nice in the morning and we checked out fine... even paid £1 a bag to leave our bags in the luggage room for the day (as we were leaving Newcastle later in the day). I just wish this Hostel had some kind of noise policy where after 1am or something everyone had to be quiet or they would be thrown out? And this would need to be policed too... I know we stayed here on a Friday night but surely Stags and Hens stay all over Newcastle over the weekends and people must get sleep surely? I don't mean to sound moany, I know some reviews you think "hmm they must just be having a bad day" but this really did happen. And for this reason I would not recommend anyone stay here over a weekend... however maybe weekdays are completely different? By the way the location is good, only 5 min walk to the high street and nearby restaurants in Grey Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello Smiley_111

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your disturbed night and lack of sleep. Unfortunately it appeared to be the only negative aspect of your entire stay with us.

Owing to our very competitive price and city centre location, we are very popular with the younger crowd who are attracted to Newcastle's party city image.

The team on nights certainly try to control the noise levels with regular floor walks of the property and regular checks on all corridors but unfortunately, for your stay, this was not enough to control the disturbances you experienced.

Thanks again for your review and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here weekend of Friday 28th Feb > Sunday 2nd March 14.

Happy with the stay and no real complaints. The staff we helpful but for some reason we got the feeling that they weren't happy, very generalised statement but none the less a smile or less serious approach would have been welcomed at check in, the bar and breakfast. Instead we got the grumpy look 9 out of 10 times.

Breakfast was continental which wasn't bad, usual cereals, tea/coffee and toast etc. Cooked breakfast available for extra.

Room (4 beds) was had two bunk beds and suited us fine. Was clean, had air con and also had heaters should we be cold.

Bathroom was small and basic but the shower was amazing! Hot and very very powerful which was a real bonus to help blow out the cobwebs. All hotels should have them...

Good location also and would stay again if with a group of friends.

Bearing in mind the price and location this was very good overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello Dawsay

Many thanks for providing a review on your recent stay at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and managed to experience both The Ware Rooms and Euro Hostel while you were here.

Thanks also for your comments on the team on reception and the bar. I will forward on your comments to the departments directly.

Thanks again for your review and I hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

great hostel for its value. the location is bit far from the centre of newcastle but somehow we manage to walk around the city. The room clean and the heater work fine during our stay. the toilet bit small but it didnt bother us as we book the quad room. A bit frustrated with the service counter. They a bit rude. Well, overall if you minus the person in-charge during our stay i think its worth the money to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nimerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Nimerk

Thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was pleased to note that, on the whole, you enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks for your feedback on our location though I have to say we are very close to the city centre, literally two minutes walk.

I will of course investigate regarding your comments on the front desk representative on duty during your stay.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we will see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I've stayed here several times and have always had a good experience. Checking in is simple and the rooms are always spacious and clean. Great value for what you pay and I would come here again definitely!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello CPS111

Thank you for providing a review on Euro Hostel Newcastle after your most recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you have stayed with us on numerous occasions and intend to continuing staying with Euro Hostel.

Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated by the team and I and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Property: Euro Hostel Newcastle
Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing