We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located for stag/hens/groups ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well located for stag/hens/groups ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a friend.
Booked it last minute but got en suite twin room for £45.
24 hour secure NCP car park just round corner. Costs £11 for 24 hours parking.
Few mins walk from pubs/clubs/shops etc.
Hotel has a pub which is an ideal starting point or meeting point if there is a large crowd of people staying here for a stag or hen party. The pub does food on the cheap and whilst they won't win any awards for their cuisine, it does the job so can't complain.
Staff within hotel/pub all seemed very polite.
Our room had en-suite facilities so can't comment on communal bathroom.
For a 'hostel' i was reasonably impressed.
I've got a stag do next year to go to in Newcastle and I will be recommending this place as an ideal place to stay for our group.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Paul M

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was pleased you found the time to make so many positive comments about our business and our facilities.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we will see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    134
    75
    43
    52
See reviews for
31
34
63
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as I couldn't find anywhere else to stay at short notice.
The room smelt very musty and sweaty even with the window left open all night.

Breakfast was plentiful but as I was the only one eating an hour after breakfast had started the items on the hot breakfast buffet were dried out.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank englishpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello english punk

Thanks for your review after your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was disappointed to note that your stay did not meet your expectations of four star hostel accommodation. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experienced.

Please remember there is always a Duty Manager available 24 hours a day to deal with any issues or inquiries.

Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We was meant to stay in a 8 bed room but because they had a room with four bed they put us in there so we didn't have to share with no extra cost. Location was so close we didn't have to get any taxis. Staff where young and new where the hot places where to go. They even had a bar to pre drink that was full of guest socialising. Brilliant hostel. Will be visiting again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstiebooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Kirstiebooo

Thanks very much for your review on Euro Hostel after your recent stay in Newcastle.

I was delighted to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I was very appreciative of your kind words on the team, and how well they had looked after you.

I sincerely hope you will come and see us again in the near future.

Thanks again for your great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a private room with 4 bunk beds on Saturday 24th May for one night. One bed had a pee stain on the mattress the rest were fine. The carpet is brown and a but grubby looking. There is one toilet and one toilet/ wet room with a shower. The bathrooms were a bit grubby, considering they got paid £210ish per room and it was only 2 toilets to clean it was a bit lazy. The staff were really friendly and willingly phone to book taxis! The night staff were a good laugh too :) would stay here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NT74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi NT74a

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was disappointed to note your comments, particularly regarding the bedroom fixtures and fittings. Please accept out sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

There is always a Duty Manager available on call throughout the day and night who will be delighted to assist you with any problems experienced.

Your comments have been forwarded on to our Housekeeping team who will carry out the appropriate, corrective action.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga wagga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The kitchen was good had everything you needed but no microwave in the kitchen you had to go upstairs to the bar to use one. But the room was nice we had a TV in our 2 bed room and our own bathroom and the staff were very helpful! Close to pretty much everything!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarahfitzholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Sarah

Many thanks for reviewing Euro Hostel Newcastle after your recent stay.

I was pleased to note that, on the whole, you seemed to enjoy your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of a microwave in the kitchen. Owing to misuse of both our microwaves, replacements had to be ordered and unfortunately, delivery was delayed slightly.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

came here for a weekend away with mates and was expecting a hostel and nothing more. just a bed and a front door, but this place is more of a hotel than a hostel. all the staff from check in to check out were absolutely amazing. the bar is massive and they were doing a happy hour our first night which went down a treat. massive bar with a pool table. rooms are very comfortable, and apart from the bunk beds has all the mod cons of a 3 star hotel. breakfast was really nice and the bar food we had in the evening was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgeMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi GadgeMurphy

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted that the team and facilities appeared to have exceeded your expectations of hostel accommodation.

Thanks again for your kind words and I hope you and your party will come and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are in a group this is the best place to stay in Newcastle. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff are excellent. The location means its only a small 10 min walk to the bars and main nightlife.

I stayed in a group of 11 and had 4 rooms. All lads for a stag weekend. The staff made us feel welcome and this meant that we could relax and have a great time.

The cash bond rules are strict so don't forget your £30pp, however this has stopped people damaging an excellent facility. The whole downstairs is a bar area and there is music and a real buzz about the place.

Also the Breakfast is fantastic, its £4.50 on the day or £3.50 to order before and you get unlimited coffee, tea, juice, cereals and full buffet English breakfast.

Thanks for the great stay - in 2011 I stayed and had just as good a time but this time I had to review, Well done to Siobhon and all the team for a great stay.

Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Christopher222

Thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with Euro Hostel Newcastle.

It was fantastic to see your party had such a good time during your time in Newcastle and would appear to have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with Euro Hostel.

Thanks also for your comments on the team and Siobhon in particular. I was delighted that you felt your party was so well looked after.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Property: Euro Hostel Newcastle
Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing