We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Euro Hostel Newcastle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'd stay again :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights and I'd stay again. Was able to get perfect nights sleep every night.
Clean rooms, I had 2 bathrooms in mine. Very close to city centre, train station and many attractions (eg. St. Mary's cathedral, Tyne bridge, the Castle, radio one...)
I paid £4 the night before for breakfast which had bacon, eggs, cereals, muffins, fruit, musli, yoghurt, tea, coffee.

Negative: Tap in bathroom had a constant drip (although couldn't hear it with door shut)
And the shower had no pressure to it, but I made do.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sezzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hi Sezzels

Thanks for your comments after your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

It was fantastic to note you had enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to staying again!

Thanks for hi-lighting the small issues with the bathing facilities and we will of course carry out repairs as a priority.

Thanks very much for your review and come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    130
    71
    42
    50
See reviews for
31
31
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend of partying and loved the hostel! The night staff, Steve and Kev were great to us and were extremely friendly and helped us with everything we needed to know or needed help with in general!
The rooms were extremely clean and the private bathrooms were a huge plus! The rooms were also quite big!
Would 100% stay here again and recommend it to anyone coming to Newcastle!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Ozabroadd

Thanks for taking the time to review Euro Hostel Newcastle after your recent stay with us.

It was great to read your positive feedback and in particular, your comments on the service received from our reception team.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We were at the same floor as a kids football team. A room next to them. During 3 days they were playing football in the corridors, screaming, running from 8am to 11pm. Impossible to sleep well or to do a nap. Lots of people said to the hotel manager that the conditions were very bad... but always the same horrible noise....
First time and last time in this hotel....
Congrats!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ratifoiseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hello ratifoiseur

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with Euro Hostel Newcastle, and for pointing out the problems experienced with noise from other guests.

Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the upset experienced. There was a junior football team staying at the hostel recently and on occasion, their behaviour was a little unruly.

Requests were made to their coaches by the duty managers on several occasions, as well as regular walk rounds of the floors during their stay.

Regretfully we could not allocate a manager to stay on the floors as often as it appeared to be needed.

Thanks you for bringing the matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here with 7 of my friends on a stag party, we had an 8 bed dorm, it had 2 showers and 2 toilets so this was perfect for our needs. We were on the first floor looking into the middle of the building so there wasn't much natural light getting into the room, didn't bother us though. At the time we stayed, the hallway was pretty noisy, a trip of kids were in our hall and that was noisy with them running up and down. The accommodation was clean when we arrived and the bed that I slept on was comfortable enough. There was a bar attached which was big, this sold breakfast in the morning, £5 for all you can eat, pretty average if I'm being perfectly honest but it did the trick. The hostel was close to the city centre which was ideal for us. Stag and hen parties opt to stay here as it's cheap, friendly and it's a good atmosphere to it all.

Room Tip: A room that doesn't look into the middle of the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cthomson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi The_Bobski

Thanks for your review after staying with Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to read your positive comments and that your group had enjoyed their time in Newcastle.

I hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Good location and a fair price. The rooms are pretty basic, the shower was not well designed as for some reason there was no curtain or door so basically the water just went all over the floor. Several bucks and hens parties during the weekend so it can get noisy throughout the evening.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nicole9210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hi nicole9210

Thank you for taking the time to wrote a review on your recent experience staying at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

Owing to our low prices and central location, we have proved to be very popular with the stag and hen market though I must stress we do have a number of procedures in place in an attempt to control their behaviour.

Unfortunately, despite these and our requests there are a minimal number who do not respect the fact other guests are staying at the same time.

The en-suite facilities are designed to operate as a wet room when required. All features and fittings are water proof for this purpose.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meribel, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Up here for work with the Students of Newcastle. Great location, lively hostel atmosphere and friendly staff. Private rooms are great with your own bathroom and don't cost much at all! Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a budget night our in Newcastle or a cheap and cheerful stay.

Room Tip: Private rooms with own bathrooms are the one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hi Liz R

Thank you for reviewing Euro Hostel after your recent stay in Newcastle.

I was delighted to read your comments and that you appeared to enjoy every aspect of your stay with us.

Thanks again for your comments and I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We've never stayed in a hostel before so we didn't know what I expect. (We were on a hen do) we paid £30 deposit each
For the room which then you bet back if the room is all good when checking out) Firstly the lift was broke and then finding out we were on the too floor was a real struggle, especially a group of girls who had over packed! After the gym work out up the stairs we got to our room. A room of 5 there was a double bed with a single bunk on top and another set of bunk beds. And small space inbetween and then a door with a decent shower and toilet. Overall the room was clean and very modern. Just very small! The sheets and beds were clean and pretty comfy too! The hostel seems to be hotter the higher you go up the stairs! The only problem we had was with our door it seemed to open after we has locked it. On the last night a group of people were talking outside our room and someone fell into the door while were were sleeping and it had opened so we had to manually lock it from the inside. The hostel staff were lovely, everything was clean and there is a pub/ bar attatched to it too.

It's in a great location! Just a few minutes walk from the city centre, a big shopping centre and bars and clubs too. Or £4/£5/£6 in a taxi.

Nothing to moan at really. It's a place to sleep and thers plenty of food around. Ideal for nights out and stag & hens :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hi Sarah R

Thank you for providing a review on your stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was glad to see you had enjoyed your stay but concerned over the issues with the bedroom lock.

Please accept my apologies regarding the lift being out of order. Unfortunately, whilst the majority of our guests are respectful of the property, there is a tiny minority who don't.

Unfortunately the actions of one or two individuals put the lift out of action for a week.

I have forwarded your comment onto our maintenance department who have already carried out the required repairs.

Thanks again for your kind words and I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Property: Euro Hostel Newcastle
Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing