We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in very convenience location”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in very convenience location”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate a Wedding Anniversary. It is a lovely old building nicely brought up to date. The rooms are good if a little short on good lighting and the restaurant is of a good fine dining standard. Very nearby is Jesmond Dene with delightful walks through the trees with a pretty river to enjoy. It is not far from the city centre and easy to travel to the airport. Overall a great place to stay especially if you want to enjoy the sites along Hadrian's Wall and the cities of Newcastle and Durham.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastorBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    190
    29
    19
    5
See reviews for
211
530
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Recently stayed here for one night for a family wedding. We booked a junior suite as a treat for ourselves, unfortunately we were disappointed with our allocated room. The view from one window was of the car park while the second window gave us ample opportunity to monitor the service area and dustbins. The room was comfortable and clean but in our opinion not worth the extra £100.
In fairness my two daughters and their families also stayed and they were impressed with their rooms [Deluxe]. Both had nice views of the gardens and were of a similar size to the junior suite [cots & extra beds were provided].
The staff were friendly, very attentive and professional.
The prices are really expensive - £4 for a small bottle of beer.
If we were forced to stay here again we would opt for the cheaper deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe - body swerve the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

An ideal hotel for a wedding, picture on a plate food, not a lot but very tasty. Staff a bit stand offish other than the reception, who were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast pretty good but not outstanding. One downside was no draught beer, bottled beer overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
necastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful hotel and great location in the wooded surroundings of Jesmond Dene just outside the city centre. Great service and stylish decor. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Food is simply superb! The Cellar is also brilliant. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. I love being out of the City center but only a short taxi ride into the bustling center of Newcastle. Not cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

What a fantastic place to stay, so good we didn't leave the hotel for 17hrs!
Food, Excellent - Service, Excellent - Bedrooms, Excellent - Value for Money, Excellent! I honestly cannot fault this hotel & would strongly recommend to anyone.
We will now be visiting Newcastle & staying here everytime!
Great Place! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edawes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel atmosphere is fantastic, from the welcome at reception, the fantastic selection of wine by the glass, i asked for a oaked chardonnay, and they had one.
The food is first class, out of this world. The room was clean, superb bathroom, and fresh fruit in the room. A personal welcome card. This does not get better, oh yes the breakfast is to die for, smoked salmon was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing