We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing afternoon tea!”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I would definately recommend Jesmond Dene house for afternoon tea! We have been half a dozen times and it gets better with each visit. There is always a different selection of cakes and the small scones are delightful. Taking afternoon tea is one of my favourite days out and it is always perfect when we come here. Service is excellent, cant fault it. Only one small comment is that the jam could be thicker but it does not at all ruin the exerience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    190
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
213
534
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Everything about our stay from the moment we entered the reception was very special. The building, bedroom, lounges, gardens, ambiance, food and service was first class. We couldn't have wished for anything, and regard this as the best and most professional, warm, friendly and enjoyable hotel we have stayed in. We will certainly be advising friends to pay a visit and will go back ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newca
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

A gift , old fashioned service , lovely atmosphere . This is a grown up experience where you are made to feel invited .The tea was genteel and we were well looked after .The setting , parkland , is lovely .I frequented the Dene in my you so it stirred good memories

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed two nights in this utterly lovely hotel and cannot wait to back again. The hotel is of course beautiful, the food was fantastic, the room, the extra touches, but it was the staff who made it. Genuienly nice people who dealt with every request with charm, everyone really goes the extra mile.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crenn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have just enjoyed a superb break at Jesmond Dene House, in Newcastle upon Tyne. The three day event was arranged by Martin Randall Travell and the music was performed beautifully by the Vienna Piano Trio - superb, as are all MRT events.
The venue was delightful. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed and we had the bonus of a sheltered terrace on which we sat and enjoyed autumn sunshine.
The meals were excellent, beautifully presented by efficient staff.
We enjoyed walking in the lovely Dene, which was a real 'eye-opener' for us - having known that there was a Dene in Jesmond, we had no idea prior to this visit, that there was such extensive natural beauty, and almost in the heart of a busy city.
A special mention for the staff at Jesmond Dene House. Their warmth and friendliness was matched by their highly professional, very attentive and highly efficient service.
We would be happy to recommend Jesmond Dene House to anyone who enjoys good food, very comfortable surroundings and great service.
We certainly plan a return visit

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheasantfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My friend got married at the Jesmond Dene in October 2011. What a beautiful hotel it was expensive for us but to be honest worth every penny i just wish we had longer to enjoy the room. The Jesmond Dene is a stunning building a beautiful, historic place to get married.

We had a classic double room it was beautifully furnished, warm with a lovely fresh, clean aroma. The attention to detail was excellent the radio was set onto classical music, there was water & a selection of fresh fruit for us to enjoy. Although i think we were above the kitchen (it was quiet) the view was of nature of the green trees right outside the window. The bath was the deepest i have ever seen and there was a lovely selection of toiletries.

We had a very friendly gentleman come at 6pm to offer a turndown service - shut the curtains (they were so thick we could have slept until midday), place drinks at the side of the bed and put bedside lights on. It was these personal touches that have set the hotel apart for me.

Normally i have found with mass catering at events the food is second rate but the food was excellent at the wedding, the staff very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a feast - a wooden box of fresh honeycomb was delicious, champagne if you fancied along with banana bread, fruits, pastries etc.

Would highly recommend especially if you can bag an offer....... The personal touches continued when I got home I received a letter of thanks for the postive feedback i left very nice touch. Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

As we will be making regular trips to Newcastle we were looking for somewhere close to city centre but also somewhere to have a break. The Jesmond Dene House more than met these two criteria. The city centre only a short taxi ride away and the hotel an oasis of peace. It has the feel of a country house hotel and the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff has ensured that we will use it going forward. On this occasion we only had the breakfast but the selection and quality was first class. Our room at the top of the building was spacious and quiet. Overall very impressed and looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJLHerts61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,287 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,000 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing