We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My sister and I often visit Newcastle and for the first time stayed at the Jesmond Dene House Hotel. We had a wonderful stay which surpassed all our expectations. We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded which was a lovely surprise. Very tasteful and stylish with a mix of classic and modern. We were impressed with the quality of the accommodation, the special additional touches in our room, the superb food but above all, the excellent customer care particularly from the reception staff. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Newcastle but this hotel beats them all. Ok, the price may be a little higher than many, but what you get for that is quality, value, the best of everything and you really feel like you have had a luxurious break. We most definitely will return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwards55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    190
    29
    19
    5
See reviews for
211
530
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

A one night stay in November.

Room
=====

Excellent. Rooms are tastefully decorated. Comfortable bed. Large modern bathroom with excellent toiletries.

Service
======

Excellent. Professional and helpful without being over friendly and intrusive. The restaurant staff were particularly excellent, guiding us through pre-dinner drinks, meal and wine choices, three courses with an additional three complimentary "tasters", provided helpful information on the provenance of some of the food, and yet were hardly noticeable.

Food
====

Excellent. We can recommend: the crab salad and root vegetable soup as starters; the beef with bearnnaise source and the chicken with potato rosti; the cherry mousse. Breakfast the next morning was of an equallly high standard.

Atmosphere
==========

Jesmond Dene House is a mock-Gothic house, located in the most fashionable area of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne. It is decorated in a tasteful, classic style with a few modern pieces in the bar areas. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Guests dress up for dinner. We dined on Friday evening and the restaurant was busy.

Verdict
======

Probably not family-friendly for those with young children, but perfect for a luxurious grown up get-away. Not for a rowdy weekend, hen-night or stag-do.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripReviewer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel three times now and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff without exception are friendly, welcoming and the service is excellent.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Newcastle and so our break is always relaxing.
We always eat in the restaurant during our stay and would say that in our opinion both the food and service are up to Michelin standard.
We certainly look forward to the next time we go up to Newacastle, and certainly would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I came here for my 21st birthday meal and drinks and it was spectacular. I will without doubt be returning to the Jesmond Dene House for special occasions and i see it as a perfect setting for a lovely romantic meal and stay for couples or as i did a family occasion. I will always remember my 21st as being a little taste of luxury and i can not believe the extent the staff go out of their way to make your day or night special. The food was something else, fantastic! There was not a single fault i could give to chef or serving staff. We also had a personal wine connoisseur who make some excellent choices for my table. I was also very struck on the setting and atmosphere which oozes elegance and class even down to the personal towels in the toilets! There was even a special house menu for those who feel it may be a little to much expense for three courses. This menu seemed very affordable but for an occasion like mine i wouldn't hesitate to splash out because of the standard of the all round experience!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Everytime we have visited Jesmond Dene House it has surpassed our expectations. On arrival a welcome smile from the lovely gentleman at the door followed by an equally warm reception fom the bar & restaurant staff. From the minute we arrive nothing is too much trouble, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming with a service which is second to none. First class food, in luxurious surroundings with friendly professional staff what more could you ask for. We were celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary & Pierre and the team went out of their way to make it such a special day. Champagne, Sunday Lunch followed by coffee next to an open fire, perfect. We will be going back soon and will recommend Jesmond Dene House to everyone, once you have been you will want to go back. Lisa & Laurence

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I would definately recommend Jesmond Dene house for afternoon tea! We have been half a dozen times and it gets better with each visit. There is always a different selection of cakes and the small scones are delightful. Taking afternoon tea is one of my favourite days out and it is always perfect when we come here. Service is excellent, cant fault it. Only one small comment is that the jam could be thicker but it does not at all ruin the exerience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Everything about our stay from the moment we entered the reception was very special. The building, bedroom, lounges, gardens, ambiance, food and service was first class. We couldn't have wished for anything, and regard this as the best and most professional, warm, friendly and enjoyable hotel we have stayed in. We will certainly be advising friends to pay a visit and will go back ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,982 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing