We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We recently stayed for one night in "The Noble Suite" - wow! We had a fantastic weekend in luxury, including a lovely stroll around Jesmond Dene. Would definitely recommend Jesmond Dene House and wouldn't hesitate to return! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattym3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    189
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
213
528
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights! Very nice hotel but some things need tightening up! Check-in was brusque and a little impersonal - credit card, keys, goodbye scenario! In face we didn't see this guy smile the whole weekend! Room 21 was fine but we had to chase for bathrobes and pillows were thin, poor quality. Tv minuscule - too tiny for room

The highlight for us was the meal on Friday night - totally outstanding! Best meal we have had in ages! Room service breakfast was also excellent.

Unfortunately our room was next to a bridal party room! Noise was horrendous for most of Saturday with children running around and shouting and lots of comings and goings with no regard for other guests - very annoying!!

Overall though - a nice hotel in convenient location

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were invited to attend a wedding here in August and the ceremony, service and catering were excellent.
The main hall was the location for the ceremony, quite intimate but still plenty of room. Off from the hall were lounge and bar areas which meant you were not trudging through a hotel to get to anywhere.
The food for the lunch was excellent (beef) and the canapes before the service were to both plentiful and extremely tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding reception at JDH. It's hard to articulate just how fantastic this hotel and the staff are - Everything was classy without being pretentious or overstated, formal where necessary but not humourless. Abi ,the wedding planner, was superb and worked really hard to create exactly the kind of day & night we wanted - nothing was too much trouble and everything felt very personal and tailored to our requirements. On the day itself, all the staff were incredibly charming and welcoming, particularly Lucasz, who had worked closely with Abi to get everything 'just right' for us. We stayed 2 nights and everyone at JDH did their bit to make it a beautiful and unique experience for us. We have travelled and lived all over the world and experienced some very high levels of customer care, but nothing came close to JDH. Can't recommend this hotel and the people here highly enough.

Room Tip: Well worth booking a room with a terrace, particularly in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Appin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and the rooms etc are very nice. This was the first time I had eaten in the restaurant and while I'd be very happy to stay again I won't be eating there. Menu and food somewhat pretentious and when you order a starter (at £14.50) which is meant to be goats cheese with beetroot but you get loads of beetroot and a couple of crumbs (literally) of gorgeous goats cheese it is a bit of a disappointment. Waitress wasn't particularly interested when I mentioned it in response to her question about how the starter had been......she didn't even ask how the main course was. Bar was also a bit disappointing but breakfast the next morning was, however, superlative.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Decided to go here after reading reviews on TA - we had a family event to attend in Newcastle and we were only in town for 24 hours.

This was a great hotel set next to the Jesmond Dene through which the river Ouseburn flows on its journey into the Tyne.

We booked well in advance but did not make a reservation for dinner soon enough. The popular restaurant was fully booked a week before and so we had to settle for a 21.30 reservation. It was a very busy restaurant with a good choice of food and wine at very reasonable prices. As we ate so late we elected for the table d'hote which at £25 for to courses per person was excellent value and great food.

We were only booked in for one night but had a superb room on the ground floor - I say ground floor but looking out of the room window we were a good ten to fifteen feet (3-5m) above the dene.

The room was well appointed with new fittings, curtains and a very comfortable bed and pillows - there was a hand written welcome letter and a bowl of fruit on arrival. The bathroom facilities were excellent including the range of toiletries.

The staff were very attentive and obliging. Breakfast next morning was one of the best we have had: great presentation, fresh fruit, honeycomb, cereal and breads and a decent cooked breakfast with a delightful cup of tea and fresh orange juice.

The only minor criticism (and it is very minor) was that room 1(where we stayed) only had a 4:3 aspect flat screen TV rather than a newer 16:9 type widescreen version. This did not detract from the visit as we only watched 10 mins of TV before we went across to the bar for pre dinner drinks.

We will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aviaraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Lovely place staff were friendly and professional menu was great good food choices just I feel that I couldn't come back for a while as the food was very expensive but then again if you can't afford it don't go . I had soup and for just chicken soup it was to die for my husband had something else can't remember but it was all stunning x the service from the staff was good very good alround

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing