We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In my opinion, the best venue in the North East”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In my opinion, the best venue in the North East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This venue is my favourite place to eat, drink and stay in the North East. I've dined many times and even been lucky enough to stay over on a few occasions and the food is always superb and the accommodation never fails to please. Had an amazing Christmas party night last week with a group of friends and we had a wonderful festive evening in the amazing Great Hall of the hotel. Our night was topped off with an overnight stay in fantastic accommodation with THE most fab breakfast the next morning. Needless to say, we'll all be returning to enjoy this great hotel soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyne&Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    189
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
213
528
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed here on 21st Dec to attend a Christmas Party night with friends. The hotel itself is beautiful - cosy, welcoming and intimate. The food during both the party night and breakfast the following morning was delicious and beautifully presented. And finally our room - what can I say but that it was fab and it was just a shame that we didn't get to spend longer in it! I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverlbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed with my husband and daughter at Jesmond Dene House Hotel in November. A special treat for my daughter's birthday.
We chose the tasting menu together with tasting wines.... we were treated like royalty, and ate like kings.
All the members of staff were so friendly and helpful.
The atmosphere for such a large hotel was cosy and intimate. Our room (in the new block) was absolutely luxurious.
The breakfast, was absolutely the best I've ever had at a hotel - if you visit, I hope they have their own honeycomb on the menu, it is fabulous!
If you have deep pockets, or have saved for a very special treat, you'll not be disappointed at Jesmond Dene.

Room Tip: We actually stayed two nights, checking out - then checking back in again. We stayed on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I grew up with Jesmond Dene and the parks as my childhood playground, it's not often I visit the 'Toon' these days therefor when I had the chance to spend a few days there recently I simply had to book this hotel which is just off the woodland paths of the amazing Dene.

Scott and his team go a long way to ensure that your stay is both trouble free and relaxing. I was gifted a suite for two nights and it was spacious and luxurious. Very warm, but with adjustable heating controls and windows which open. Good bathroom, with underfloor heating. Would have loved a bath (but reckon I was spoiled enough).

Service is typically Northern, warm, genuine and friendly (makes me proud to be a Geordie). Breakfast was good, really loved that they cooked fresh plum tomatoes and left the canned alone. It's a large enough breakfast to set anyone up for the day.

I dined in the restaurant on my first evening. Unobtrusive, yet attentive service, and delightful selection of fare. Truly enjoyed the scallops and the duck, and had no room for dessert. Wish I'd left room to try the cheese selection which appeared in a huge glass trolley and contained some real beauties.

Overall I highly recommend the venue, it's not far from the town centre (10 mins by taxi), but far enough away to make you feel you've been transported into the countryside. Great for walks, drinks by the fire and a bit of spoiling yourself.

Room Tip: Suites are comfy and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We recently had our Civil Partnership celebrations here. A small affair we had the "Norman Shaw" private room. The service we recieved was equal to many of the Michelin starred restaurants we've eaten in- it really could not have been better and certainly the best service we've had in the North East; proffesional, attentive and discrete.
We'd asked for certain things to ber provided upon our arrival, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was equally good, and the wine really excellent.
We booked a junior suite that evening and discovered that we'd been given the diabled access suite- the room was fine however the bathroom was not the standard I'd expect from a suite (no bath) the manager, however, was very helpful and changed out room to one with a better bathroom as well as providing us with free champange, again excellent service.
Breakfast the next day was equally good. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and we'll be eating here a lot more from now on. Well done and thank you for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed one night with friends and had a wonderful night with great food, wine and service.The room was comfortable and well presented. The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent; we ate from the fixed price menu at £28 a head and a bottle of wine for £24, pre dinner drinks ar £10, therefore with tip £50 a head, expensive but reasonable for a special night out. Our friends went a la carte and starters were £17 each and mains £26 a head and cheese £10, pudding £8.50.They agreed that the food was excellent but the portions were small and over expensive, they agreed that they would have been better on the fixed price menu.
Service was first class, at the table and in the bar/lounge where the waiter was knowledgeable and friendly.
The breakfast the next day, included in our overnight stay, was superb with a great choice including my favourite smokked salmon with scrambled eggs.

Will definately return albeit for another special occasion.t

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmcl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is our absolute favourite place to stay. After we had our wedding at the hotel earlier this year we have become very attached! The friendly atmosphere is welcoming yet always so professional. The standards are outstanding from the beautiful bedrooms to the fabulous restaurant to the attentive staff.
I have nothing but praise for this beautiful hotel and its fantastic staff. I would recommend it to anyone planning a celebration for 100, a quiet weekend for 2 and anything in between! A truly perfect venue

Room Tip: The suites in the new house are luxurious and spacious. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWinturnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing