We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle's Finest!”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Newcastle's Finest!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Jesmond Dene House is a beautiful hotel, set within it's own grounds. It' about a 10 minute drive into the centre of Newcastle so you are away from the hussle and bustle if that's what you would like. The Hotel is elegant/contemporary. The bedrooms have all been top notch whenever we have stayed. The food is extremely good and the service is wonderful too. We haven't stayed for quite sometime but we have stayed as a couple, with family and also as guests to large family celebration and we have always enjoyed ourselves no matter what the occasion was. I would definitely recommend the Jesmond Dene House Hotel if you are heading to Newcastle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    192
    32
    19
    5
See reviews for
212
541
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Service from the staff was first class. Very friendly yet professional. 10/10. Breakfast ok but expensive for what turned up also on day one of our stay we had breakfast in our room and we were not made aware of the fact that the continental breakfast was included in the price of the full breakfast. It did not state this on the menu we completed the previous night. The room was small and cramped. And cold as the radiator was turned on. The toilet was positioned very close to the vanity unit and my other half, being tall 6'4" could not sit comfortably on the loo with out hitting his legs on it. Food was expensive for what it was. Not sure I would stay there again. also I went to iron my dress and the iron had its last PAT test in 2011 and rhe cord was frayed. Although they did find another iron we were asked by the member of staff if the iron worked???? Why we we plug in an iron with a frayed cord and an out of date PAT test to find out??

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

As hotels go Jesmond Dene House was one of the nicest hotel locations we have stayed. We were given a nights stay and dinner from my daughter and her husband for our retirement. It was lovely suprise but was even better when we arrived there. We had a suite which was fantastic we had champane and the meal was just wonderful as was the service. We don't live to far away but was lovely to walk around the dene after breakfast before we had our coffee then leave for home. A big thank you to everybody concerned for a lovely stay

Room Tip: Corner suite very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed at Jesmond Dene House for my first trip to Newcastle. It was in a beautiful location, with great places to walk outdoors, but it was still just a quick trip into town to go to shops and restaurants. The location was the best of both worlds. Our room was beautifully decorated (we were in the attic) and the bathroom was huge with a lovely bathtub. Everyone we encountered was incredibly friendly, from the staff at check-in, servers in the restaurant at breakfast, and bartenders in the bar for evening drinks. I will definitely stay at Jesmond Dene House for my next trip to Newcastle, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a lovely place to stay for their visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at the Jesmond Dene House for two nights in March and although the weather was cold, grey and misty we could see that the setting is ideal, which is good for the Hotel as we must return and sample during nicer weather conditions. As many other reviewers have said the whole place is first class. What we particularly liked is the fact it appears to be a one off and not a corporate chain. We actually arrived very stressed as our brand new car developed an electrical fault and had to be towed off the A1, so any problems during our check in would not have gone down well. Not to worry everything went smoothly and room was delightful and all thoughts of changing car dissappeared. We want to move in permanently!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We revisited in early February after being offered a complimentary stay following our disappointing visit in November. Our room was in the main hotel with a view of the gardens and had a separate bath and shower. Loved the underfloor heating. Dinner was very good and the service exceptional. We lingered over breakfast the following morning before heading home. Pleased to say that our previous visit was just a blip, and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel was the best I've stayed in the North East. We had a junior suite and it was luxurious and spacious. Staff were delightful and very helpful. We were guests at a wedding in the hotel and stayed two nights and it was first class. The breakfast was the best I've had in a British hotel. Can't wait to go back, even if it's just for breakfast! Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,027 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,336 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing