We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I used to live in Newcastle, and we would stay in this hotel for a bit of a treat. The rooms are superb as is the dining. The decor is fantastic, period wood panelling and beautiful furniture. The cocktail bar is brilliant. The cocktails are quite expensive, but they are delicious and the little nibbles you get with them are very tasty!
So its great if you want to go somewhere for a lovely meal then stay over

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    190
    31
    19
    5
See reviews for
213
534
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Booked my parents in here for my Dad's 60th Birthday and they weren't disappointed. The staff were really accommodating with an upgrade to a suite, a surprise for him, and made the stay special. Lovely hotel and a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a family gathering for sunday lunch at Jesmond Dene House to celebrate my daughter and her husbands tenth wedding anniversary.The hotel is absolutely lovely both inside and out,beautifully decorated yet with a welcoming feel.The staff could not be faulted...very friendly but still extremely professional , our every request was greeted with a smile and the service was superb.Our food was delicious,and there was just the right amount of time left between each course for us to all relax and enjoy each others company without feeling we were just there to eat.I can truly say that it was a most enjoyable experience,and a wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Had a fantastic Sunday lunch at the Jesmond Dene House at the end of last summer, followed by a walk through the dene and what lovely place it is. Booked at the time for last Sunday 24-03-13 for our 10th anniversary and invited the family as well, and so very glad we did, very attentive staff, food was fabulous, our two children 5 and 7 enjoyed the children's menu, Lovely size table that allowed a long lazy lunch with lots conversation. No matter what you order unless everyone on your table orders the same dessert you will have "pudding envy". Defiantly worth every penny

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a fantastic stay in Jesmond Dene House on 22-03-2013.
When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff which made us feel very special and welcome, we were told a very good friend had arranged a free upgrade and when we were shown to our room it was the beginning of what would be a magical day. We got ready and went inside the bar lounge area, it is warm and full of character mixed with the excellent choice of drinks it made for a very relaxing mood. When we were shown to our table for dinner we once again were greeted by friendly staff, the meal and the service were second to none. We ended the night listening to the excellent Laura Adams and the Paul James band who were doing a Jazz and supper evening and went to our beds thinking about the amazing night we'd just had. To top our stay off we had a wonderful breakfast of which you could choose from a vast choice of continental and cooked meals. So if your'e looking for a fantastic night of food, drink, entertainment and a wonderful relaxing nights stay you couldn't do any better than Jesmond Dene House

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our Daughter was on hokiday on Mothers day and took us to Jesmond Dene House for high tea. The location is ideal and the decor lovely. The high tea was one of the best I have had and the staff were very attentive. Recommend anyone to visit to sample first hand.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Jesmond Dene House is a beautiful hotel, set within it's own grounds. It' about a 10 minute drive into the centre of Newcastle so you are away from the hussle and bustle if that's what you would like. The Hotel is elegant/contemporary. The bedrooms have all been top notch whenever we have stayed. The food is extremely good and the service is wonderful too. We haven't stayed for quite sometime but we have stayed as a couple, with family and also as guests to large family celebration and we have always enjoyed ourselves no matter what the occasion was. I would definitely recommend the Jesmond Dene House Hotel if you are heading to Newcastle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,290 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,000 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing