We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and can honestly say that we have never been disappointed.
Our deluxe room was clean, comfortable and spacious with a lovely bathroom.
The food is exceptional - we had both a lunch snack and an evening meal - and the staff are friendly and professional.
A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
There are newer reviews for Jesmond Dene House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Jesmond Dene House on many occasions. We always have a fabulous well rounded luxury experience, however I do believe they have now raised the bar even higher!

We arrived at a very busy time in the rain and were greeted by a member of staff who happened to be walking passed our car. She asked if we required any assistance with our luggage. This I feel was going above and beyond the call of duty, it was raining and she could have easily walked back inside and we would not have blinked an eyelid. We later discovered the young lady was part of the reception team.

During checkin Leonard was very helpful, efficient and friendly (This was consistent to our previous visits). We usually stay in Room number 3 as this is our personal favourite, however we booked later than usual so as expected it was taken. Not to worry, we were advised room 24 was available (also a Deluxe Room) . We were very happy with room 24 this particular room has a garden view and is positioned
on the second floor. The hotel has obviously worked with some cleaver interior designers and architects and they have managed to keep many of its origanal features mixing them with beautiful quality items of furniture and luxurious finishing touches.
A special mention to the Arran Aromatic toiletries, fluffy dressing gowns/slippers and luxurious beds & pillows covered with Egyptian cotton sheets.

We usually have afternoon tea (highly recommend) but this time we booked the restaurant for our evening meal. We chose the 10 course tasting menu and we were not disappointed the first course was oysters followed by many amazing courses such as "Fish with out the chips" very cute!Parma ham,beef,squid,soup,pea and haddock mouse,strawberry tart and chocolate fudge cake. All very tantalising! The waitress Darina was amazing and the service was faultless all the staff at the JDH are friendly & efficient without being pretentious.

The room was very peaceful given a large wedding was taking place!!

Breakfast was 1st class as usual. We were offered tea/ coffee and freshly sqeezed orange juice.We then visited the continental breakfast area,I particularly love the smoked salmon! My partner loved the fresh mixed berries. We ordered the full English Breakfast and it came promptly on lovely warm plates and I can honestly say it was perfect! I decided to have a small glass of champagne that is served at breakfast, when I went up to the station a member of staff (perhaps the restaurant manager) insisted he bring it to our table (he knew the number) and he also asked if we had enjoyed our taster menu! I was very impressed he'd remembered as he didn't serve us during the evening and the restaurant was busy.
We shall be back very soon! We love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A one night stay as part of a business trip. What a stunning hotel in the middle of Newcastle. Despite its location, completely quiet with most noise being made by pigeons roosting in the trees around the hotel grounds and lawns! Looks like an old stately home but really well done to save the historical features of the building and interior. Excellent service in the bar and restaurant and the food equally good. Wished I could have stayed longer!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank pblakester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner booked this hotel as a birthday present for me - we stayed in a junior suite and were pleasantly surprised to find a 1/2 bottle of champagne on the table as part of our celebration. Our room was on the ground floor in the new house and we had access to a shared garden. The gardens are full and beautifully kept - it is so lovely to see the abundance of flowers and fruit growing there. The food was wonderful as was the service we received from every member of staff. This is a special place - the small things make such a difference - including a hand written welcome note from the hotel managers. These touches are very personal and make you feel so much more welcome. Many congratulations to JDH for ticking every box.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbialto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked a table in the Garden Room for our daughter's 21st birthday. There were eight of us. We had champagne in the lounge area before moving to our table. Everything was beautifully prepared and the food was excellent. All of the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The evening could not have been more perfect and I would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCACNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

In July I stayed with my two sons at JDH for two nights for my younger son's graduation, the third occasion I have used this lovely hotel (see previous review 2012). Once again I have been impressed by the warmth and professionalism of all the staff as well as by the services provided. Any query is met with an immediate and enthusiastic response by articulate staff members who always find time to take a personal interest in their visitors and go out of their way to accommodate any requests.We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant on one evening and, as ever, the room service was in all aspects beyond reproach. I can only repeat that I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when I'm in Newcastle - each visit to JDH is a real pleasure and I am always made to feel as though I am among welcoming friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Who could imagine that such a tranquil place could exist in the middle of Newcastle? This hotel combines the grandeur of an amazing arts and crafts manor house with the most stunning English garden and throws in some quirky and endearing service to provide a trip to remember. The hotel restaurant is excellent and the bar and staff are brilliant.

Room Tip: The suites are in the New House part of the hotel which is a more modern annexe to the Old House par...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £92 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing