We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A City Oasis”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A classic country house adjacent to the Ouseburn in Jesmond Dene, a wooded park. Stone walls mean it's calm and quiet even when there is a wedding or other party. The staff are friendly and efficient, including the cleaning and turn-down staff. We had a well appointed Classic Room with a multiplayer/radio to drop the iPod into and a great bed. TV gets Sky Sports so I could watch some of the Heineken Cup games. The hotel is in a rural environment but is a 5 minute walk from the nearest Metro station at Ilford Road so it was easy to drop back into the hotel between activities. It's 5 minutes by Metro to Haymarket and a couple more minutes to get to the centre of town. Breakfast is sumptuous with a comprehensive Continental option and individually cooked options. The dinner menu is wide-ranging and the food is excellent; wine prices range from affordable to 'special occasion'. We had a great time in Newcastle and the Jesmond Dene House experience was a big contributor to the success of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

A fantastic boutique style hotel set in the most gorgeous grounds at the edge of Jesmond Dene. The front of house staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. The room was bright, clean and well stocked. The view from the window was delightful and we could hear the waterfall, built by Lord Armstrong, in Jesmond Dene. Our evening meal was absolutely delicious. The staff were a bit pushed that evening for one reason or another but very apologetic for any wait and didn't charge us for our drinks. We didn't mind at all as the surroundings were so relaxing. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the garden side. Remember to request a bath if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kosmic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was the beautiful setting for our daughter's wedding. The professionalism was second to none, they ensured everything ran smoothly and effortlessly throughout the day which left us all free to have a wonderful time. The staffing level was a pleasure to behold, at a time when many venues leave you requiring a sat nav to locate a member of staff, there was always someone discreetly available. Regarding the accommodation, our room was really well appointed and even had complimentary fruit and mineral water in addition to the usual tea & coffee making facilities. Breakfast was taken in the lovely airy conservatory overlooking the gardens and offered a really wide selection. Jesmond Dene House is a unique hotel and well deserves it's star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALK-119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for just one night, and it is a beautifully appointed hotel. Our bedroom was good, while the bathroom was excellent...however, we noticed that the bed was very firm. We struggled to sleep during the night and mentioned this to the receptionist at breakfast and the response was, "we suggest that guests sleep on top of the duvet, if they find the bed too firm" - amazing response.
Breakfast was disappointing with the full English breakfast being served only lukewarm by a dis-interested waitress

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a firm mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnefanPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was invited by a friend, and blown away by this beautiful place. The attention to detail is superb - individual hand towels in the powder room, none of your crap hand dryers! - the service discreet and oh so professional, the decor astounding..I loved it! Afternoon tea was exquisite; dainty sandwiches, scones, cakes and the smokiest Assam tea (my choice from the range) that I have encountered for ages. It really was a special occasion, made all the more so by such unabashed Quality. I'm angling for an overnight stay, next chance I get! Do go, you won't regret it. Well done, JDH!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jjandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We attended our niece's wedding in this beautiful hotel together with my aunt (aged 80) and the surrounding dene, the hotel, the service, the food and the staff were faultless. My aunt felt totally "safe and exceptionally comfortable" in her bedroom which meant we had no need to worry about her. The wedding itself was magnificent and took place in this beautiful venue where we enjoyed excellent food and fabulous wine and canapes between the service and the commencement of the wedding reception. The lounges were gorgeous and we relaxed there on the eve of the wedding and we just loved the dog theme (and the wee cat which has adopted the JDH as a new home as he knows a great thing when he sees it!) October 2013

Room Tip: the suites are the new part whereas if you opt for a bedroom the decor is more traditonal to the sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We met up here for a light lunch and a chat. The hotel reception and lounge area was very impressive and comfortable and the staff welcoming. We order a sandwich each which duly arrived and was well presented if slightly expensive. However we all agreed that the food was delicious and satisfying. We then followed up with a sweet which again was beautifully presented.
The overall experience however could have been enhanced by a better quality of service. We had to eventually asked for the table to be cleared before we could eat our sweets and there was a very long gap between ordering the food and receiving it. We also had to send back two of the sweets as they had given us the wrong ones. We then had to wait a while after asking for the bill.
To be fair there did seem to be a wedding party in at the same time so I will try this venue again at a later date to see if the service issue was just a one off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,084 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,397 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £84 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing