We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference at Jesmond and hotel stay in general”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Conference at Jesmond and hotel stay in general”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Booked a conference for the third year running at Jesmond over 30 people staying from USA Europe and UK. Evening buffet to held in Great Hall night before for around 80 people and I just know all will be top drawer. Stay at the hotel on a regular basis entertain customers in the hotel and it never lets you down, its the place and the surroundings, but what makes it different and stands it out from all other places is the staff, from the reception guys who are tremendous to the rest of the people in around the hotel, and the back room staff who always available and friendly plus efficient. Flown over 50 flights this year and stayed in many hotels in many countries but the Jesmond always feels like home and I am from Manchester

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    189
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
213
528
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We booked a week to stay at Jesmond Dene House. What a fab place to chill and relax yet be only a stones throw away from the hustle and bustle of Newcastle City Centre. We had a beautiful big room and a really good sized full bathroom. Never got a soak in the big tub but next time I will for sure.
The staff are friendly, unobtrusive and always willing to help or stop for a chat

The food was excellent, in years gone by we would have stuffed ourselves to bursting point at breakfast. It was hard to resit. Would like some of the recipes for some of the items.

Staff are ready to help explain menu's and wine if you are not sure what to have. A very knowledgeable summelier and bar manager.

We had friends over for afternoon tea. Excellent, fresh and light. Nothing rushed. Very relaxed atmosphere by the fireside.

We also had a really good bar meal. Much larger portions that expected and very good quality.
Had friends over for drinks and nibbles too. They were also impressed. Try the red pepper hummus with warm pitta's, delicious.

An excellent stay. Highly recommended for a peaceful, quiet environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieflowers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Enjoyed are stay very much. Stayed in the new house after having been upgraded and it was lovely. Bed was extremely comfortable slept like a log. Did not have food as we were meeting friends in town but did have drink when we returned. Staff were amazing, nothing was too much bother, would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the New House as it is very quite in separate building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went to a fantastic wedding hosted by jdh decided to stay for a treat and wasn't disappointed the staff were excellent and attentive the venue was fantastic and the room was top quality was very clean and oozed quality. Stayed in the new house The food was amazing as was the breakfast this morning. Drinks were expensive but to be expected
A highly recommended place and will defo be back 10/10

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted the best for my Daughter and future son in law and JDH didn't disappoint .
Abbie the wedding coordinated made the planning easy and on the day Karen and her staff were very attentive
The venue is perfect for weddings with a grand setting and the benefits of a separate entrance to a private cocktail bar and the Great Hall
Imagine the scene .... a cold wet November day guests settling with a drink after the trip from the church and then the grand entrance.The log fire crackled and had warmed the hall, the candle light flickered and table sets sparkled, it was absolutely stunning. Our wedding breakfast was everything you would expect from the award winning restaurant .
Thank you JDH ,my daughters wedding was everything we wanted and imagined ,the memory of the Day the setting the service and of course the food will always be one of our happiest memories .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank glyn1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Superb room/location, excellent food, friendly and attentive staff. Booked a night stay as a surprise for my fiancée s birthday. We were upgraded and received complementary champagne.

Everything about this place says excellence.

Will definitely be back 10/10

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete-the-meat-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We used the Hotel as a base for a trip to Newcastle and Northumbria for 4 nights, staying in a Junior Suite, which is separate from the main house. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and had breakfast also. The Hotel is situated in very pleasant grounds. Its a five minute walk to the Metro which takes you all over Newcastle for £2.50 a day; alternatively, it's a 5-10 minute £8.00 taxi ride to Newcastle Centre. It's not worth taking a car into the centre.
The welcome that we had from the receptionist was first class, he could not have been more helpful. The room was good, the only criticism being a lack of light, but the hotel found us a few more lamps and it was much improved. There is a very relaxing bar adjacent to the restaurant with an open fire, it was very comfortable. The restaurant is expensive but the food was excellent and could not be faulted for quality, you basically get what you pay for: the staff were very good and always helpful and obliging. Again the quality of the breakfast was excellent, with a very good choice of food and drink. I would thoroughly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites, whilst being more expensive, are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing