We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great weekend treat”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Jesmond Dene is only a 10 minutes Metro ride from the city centre but a world apart from the chain hotels in Newcastle. The house is beautifully kept and nested on the edge of a forest like park that allows pleasant walks if the weather is nice.
We arrived early and although our room was not ready (check in is at 3pm) we were immediately offered a drink to ease our wait.
We also had dinner at the restaurant on Saturday night: the food is gorgeous and the wine list has plenty of options. The seaweed butter tasted like sea - an absolute treat!
Our room was small but cozy and spotless, with little touches such as fruit, water and magazines available for us.
On Sunday when we were late for breakfast, they offered to bake a croissant especially for me (when they ran out of pastries).
I think is the little touches that make this hotel a gem in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_London_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    189
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
211
527
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Jesmond Dene house to celebrate a birthday. We received a wonderful welcome from the reception staff. Our room was beautiful overlooking the Dene. It was a good size,with a very comfortable bed, gorgeous furnishings and a fantastic bathroom which included a huge bath and separate large shower. Dinner was delicious with a couple of delightful surprises in the form of amuse bouches! Breakfast was served in the conservatory/ orangery overlooking a beautiful garden on a beautiful spring morning. It was tasty, beautifully presented and finished off a perfect stay in the best possible way. I look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is unique but I feel sure decorated to an equally high standard. I can't imagine nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethlmdc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We decided to stay at the Jesmond Dene hotel for two nights because it had been recommended as a very smart hotel in the Newcastle area. Unfortunately on both the Friday and Saturday nights they were full up with wedding parties. On the first night this meant there were no seats in the bar and on both nights it meant the whole hotel was shaking to the racket of the nightclub for the wedding party. We may have been unlucky with our room choice (room 20) I don't know but to be kept awake until 12.45 both nights is unacceptable and more like you would expect in Benadorm. This is a top hotel at a top price and it is not on.

The staff are excellent, the food is excellent the decor is excellent but you cannot have a top notch hotel taken over by rowdy wedding parties it is too much of a conflict of interest. I suspect it happens most weekends during the wedding season but if you are going to stay their take my advice and check first!

Room Tip: Check they do not have any weddings on, we got two out of our two nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GDG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Jesmond dene house in January. We stayed for dinner bed and breakfast to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is beautiful, a true five star experience and definitely the best hotel in Newcastle in our opinion. The food is Michelin star quality and a particular highlight was the champagne breakfast! We will definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Littler267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After a particularly stressful time with health problems I booked this hotel for a surprise night away with my husband! We stayed in room 3 and upon entering the room found complimentary champagne which was a lovely touch.. The views overlooking the Dene are lovely and even saw squirrels on the tree outside our room! We felt very spoilt & looked after & can highly recommend for a treat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, huge room with lovely views of the dene and massive shower & bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for her 30th birthday, and we had a fantastic time. We only live 20 miles away but it didn't matter, it was so relaxing to stay in such a fantastic location.
We checked in, had drinks in the bar with some amazing bar snacks with our Gins, ate in the Restaurant where the food was incredible, including the cheese board which had the best selection of cheeses I have ever seen. We then retired to the bar for some Whisky's from the whisky menu, and were given complimentary 'petit fours', before retiring to our luxurious room.

Breakfast was as impressive, and all served in great surroundings with some really interesting art work in display.

The only down side was our room was roasting, but when i rang the reception at 4am to ask how to sort it they directed me to the radiator controls, which was fairly obvious, so I would have to say the blame lay with me!

Overall a first class experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed over three nights and couldn't fault it at all. The staff were excellent very friendly and helpful, although we only ate breakfast in the hotel apart from the wedding meal the standard of food was excellent in taste selection and presentation. The attention to detail in the room was also of a very high standard. The location of the hotel is also very good with easy access to Jesmond Dene which allows for a stroll down into Newcastle city centre. All in all an excellent and quite informal hotel considering the standards it reaches.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,319 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,924 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing