We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel many times. The service is always top quality and friendly. The food is always first class, with a large choice of excellent drinks (wines, cocktails etc). Always book a superior double room which are large rooms, bath and separate walk in shower in the bathroom. The only problem being that the beds are quite firm, but that is not our personal preference. You can get food any time of day, from breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the 28th march for his birthday. We stayed in room 20 which was small but beautifully decorated with a big bathroom with shower and large bath. We found all the staff in the hotel to be polite and friendly. Our son and his girlfriend joined us for a meal on the evening and we all found the food to be of very high quality. I was only sorry that I was too full to be able to enjoy the chocolates which came after the meal, though my son tells me they were delicious. The hotel is smaller than expected but we enjoyed viewing the Norman Cornish paintings which were around the hotel and loved the "dogs" which were in the lounges and reception area. Very cute. I think that during the summer months that this would be a lovely hotel to stay in to enjoy the grounds. Overall a very enjoyable stay

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed on 27th March on the Foodie special in room 11 which as advertised has a little terrace which would've been lovely had the weather been a bit better. Room was comfortable with a large shower.
Evening meal was as anticipated, really good. The house menu had 5 or 6 choices for each course, with both my partner (fish lover) and myself (meat eater) catered for. The wine list was extensive and not as eye wateringly expensive as one might expect. In fact the very helpful sommelier found us a nice rose which wasn't on the menu for a very reasonable £23. Following a restful and quiet night our breakfast was excellent, great choice on both the continental and cooked menu. So why only 4 stars - mistake with the bill checking out where we were over charged on our restaurant bill - apologies were given but the receptionist did blame 'the kitchen' rather than it being unqualified.
Wouldn't put me off going back for a special occassion

Room Tip: room 11 has a terrace but there are small steps to it so not suitable for those with mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Jesmond Dene is only a 10 minutes Metro ride from the city centre but a world apart from the chain hotels in Newcastle. The house is beautifully kept and nested on the edge of a forest like park that allows pleasant walks if the weather is nice.
We arrived early and although our room was not ready (check in is at 3pm) we were immediately offered a drink to ease our wait.
We also had dinner at the restaurant on Saturday night: the food is gorgeous and the wine list has plenty of options. The seaweed butter tasted like sea - an absolute treat!
Our room was small but cozy and spotless, with little touches such as fruit, water and magazines available for us.
On Sunday when we were late for breakfast, they offered to bake a croissant especially for me (when they ran out of pastries).
I think is the little touches that make this hotel a gem in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_London_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Jesmond Dene house to celebrate a birthday. We received a wonderful welcome from the reception staff. Our room was beautiful overlooking the Dene. It was a good size,with a very comfortable bed, gorgeous furnishings and a fantastic bathroom which included a huge bath and separate large shower. Dinner was delicious with a couple of delightful surprises in the form of amuse bouches! Breakfast was served in the conservatory/ orangery overlooking a beautiful garden on a beautiful spring morning. It was tasty, beautifully presented and finished off a perfect stay in the best possible way. I look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is unique but I feel sure decorated to an equally high standard. I can't imagine nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethlmdc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We decided to stay at the Jesmond Dene hotel for two nights because it had been recommended as a very smart hotel in the Newcastle area. Unfortunately on both the Friday and Saturday nights they were full up with wedding parties. On the first night this meant there were no seats in the bar and on both nights it meant the whole hotel was shaking to the racket of the nightclub for the wedding party. We may have been unlucky with our room choice (room 20) I don't know but to be kept awake until 12.45 both nights is unacceptable and more like you would expect in Benadorm. This is a top hotel at a top price and it is not on.

The staff are excellent, the food is excellent the decor is excellent but you cannot have a top notch hotel taken over by rowdy wedding parties it is too much of a conflict of interest. I suspect it happens most weekends during the wedding season but if you are going to stay their take my advice and check first!

Room Tip: Check they do not have any weddings on, we got two out of our two nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GDG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Jesmond dene house in January. We stayed for dinner bed and breakfast to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is beautiful, a true five star experience and definitely the best hotel in Newcastle in our opinion. The food is Michelin star quality and a particular highlight was the champagne breakfast! We will definitely return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Littler267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,084 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,400 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £85 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing