We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jesmond Dene House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euro Hostel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$251
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle Central(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,235)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveller rating
953
217
38
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
217
38
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teanoble suitegarden roomthe main housejunior suiteunderfloor heatingbeautiful hotelfresh milkwedding venuebirthday treatcity centresunday lunchwalk in showerfull englishfollowing morningcooked breakfastan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to a Friday Jazz night music evening at the Jesmond Dean House Hotel. We had previously attended the Valentines night dinner dance and had a wonderful time.
This occasion was different in some ways but just as good. As before, we were sat on a table with three other couples and, like the last time we hit it off straight away. The food which was a three course meal was delicious and the band superb. As it was my husbands birthday weekend I treated him to an overnight stay with breakfast. The room was lovely and had beautiful views of the gardens and dean. It was comfortable, beautifully decorated and well stocked with complementary goodies. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and attentive and we spent a lovely morning relaxing and enjoying a sumptuous breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foode65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed last weekend for 3nts, 2 of them on the Foodie special. As others reviews say, the food is excellent & we had no problem choosing from the house menu which was included in the package. As well as the 3 courses there is an amuse bouche before the starter & palette cleanser before dessert. Food at breakfast was also excellent, the only hiccup was when the cooked was brought before we'd finished our fruit. It didn't happen again!
The bedroom was very quiet & comfortable. We were in room 11 which is a superior room with king bed & walk in shower which was perfect for our needs. Due to the weather we were unable to sit on our terrace!
This hotel is very popular for afternoon teas & the lounge & cocktail bar were full each afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

There was a group of us who stayed at Jesmond Dene House hotel last weekend on the 'Foodie Special'... and it was very very good, the food was very good, the service was very good, and the rooms were very good.
I have no doubt that I would recomend this hotel and especially the 'foodie special' deal as it represents excellent value for money. Plus the location is perfect too, 5 mins from the city centre, yet the hotel is set in lovely peacful grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights for a midweek break and were given an upgrade ( to room 21). Rooms and facilities are excellent and location is great for travelling into the city on the Metro. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Five stars is not enough.

Beautiful house and grounds, excellent bedrooms, perfect, attentive and very friendly service, gorgeous food. A real treat. Would love to move in, if I could!

Seems unfair it compare it to ordinary hotels. A case where you do get what you pay for.

Location in Jesmond is quiet and the Dene is a beautiful place to walk. Convenient for city centre and for access to A1.

We had an ordinary double but it was spacious and very well equipped with a large bed and bathroom with bath and shower. Could not face the ten course tasting menu but a delicious three course meal was served with amuse bouche and an outstanding choice of wine by glass, carafe and bottle.

Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Extensive cooked menu plus impressive buffet of fresh and baked goods. All in conservatory overlooking private and pretty garden. Heaven!

Struggling to fill the 200 character minimum. Just go!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank skimblejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews