We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jesmond Dene Hse Experience”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To finish off our 43rd Wedding Anniversary we booked an overnight stay of Dinner B & B at J. D.H. Hotel.Again we were not disappointed. Dinner was fine dining to the ultimate and the room we had been allocated before so was of 5 star quality. Breakfast was to the same high standard. Staff were also first class and again the Hotel has a great employee and ambassador in Nicky Sherman.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lyndbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Don't let the last few miles on the main road as you get near put you off - this is a hidden gem, tucked away in a very quiet and pleasant location. We splashed out on the Noble Suite, and enjoyed the extra space, comfortable sitting area and ultra modern bathroom. The room is in the roof space, and care needs to be taken to avoid banging your head against the eaves! Unfortunately the weather precluded enjoyment of the outside terrace, and we were unable to partake of the evening meal. However, the breakfast was great - plenty of choice, and freshly cooked to order.

Room Tip: Noble Suite - expensive, but worth it. Mind your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff were fantastic and could not do any more to make the experience any better.
We had the taster menu with the wine pairing this was lovely, and I am glad we chose the pairing as we would not have tried the different types of wine offered. Will be staying again soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had lived in Jesmond Dene in Deep Dene House for six months some 49 years ago and had organised a nostalgic visit to Newcastle and the Dene with my wife as part of our 40th wedding anniversary celebrations. Despite having booked the hotel on a non refundable basis for last December I was unwell and had to cancel. The Manager was most understanding and offered to allow us to reschedule at a time of our choice. We returned for two nights last week and were thrilled at the quality of the hotel from the exquisite food and most comfortable rooms through to the delightful, attractive and most helpful staff. Front of House Manager Stephen was simply brilliant and made our stay a memorable one. Sadly the North East is not on our door-step, we are from Northern Ireland, because if it were this hotel and dining room would become a regular haunt for this most impressed and grateful couple. Congratulations JDHH, five stars all the way!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at Jesmond Dene House on numerous occasions and it never fails to disappoint.

The rooms are unique and comfortable and the location is perfect, especially in summer, for walks in the Dene.

It can be expensive but you get what you pay for. Fantastic

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenchenko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff were very pleasant, from the doorman through all grades to the manager. Service with afternoon tea and evening meal was a little slow but this may have been due to weddings/events taking place. The taster menu was very good & we had the accompanied wine taster which was interesting but not such good value - small measures for the price paid. The building is fabulous with a lot of retained features from the days it was a private residence. The grounds are small but pleasant and parking good. Jesmond Dene is within 2 minutes walk and is great for a atoll following breakfast or afternoon tea. Room one was very comfortable with good views of the Dene. Some noise can be heard in the bathroom from kitchens & the ballroom if there are functions. Closing the bathroom door prevents sound entering the bedroom. We had a lovely time and will definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for one night on a Red Letter Day Gourmet break for our wedding anniversary.
Reservation was very easy and confirmation promptly sent via email. Made a request for a room with a bath which was responded to quickly.
Upon arrival to the hotel we were blown away at how pretty the hotel looked, we had never been before and didn't even know it was there. Plenty of parking.
Greeted in reception by a lovely lady who advised us that we had been upgraded to the Loft Suite, this was such a pleasant surprise. I genuinely felt excited as we were shown to our room. Wow...the staircase from the front door of the apartment leads to a magnificent space with a living area, dressing area, office area and a humongous bed! There was a terrace with comfortable rattan furniture and the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms we had stayed in. Double sinks, huge bath which filled in a few minutes and a double walk in shower. The toiletries were refreshing and in plentiful supply.
The linen was crisp and the towels large and fluffy.
The mini bar was well stocked and prices reasonable. Complementary teas, freshly ground coffee, biscuits, still and sparking water, fresh fruit. We also found a half bottle of champagne which was a nice touch, again this was complementary from the management. Fluffy robes and slippers, iron and board, safe, shoe shine, sewing kit etc, all there as well as a powerful hairdryer. Room service choice good and not too expensive.
Dinner was a ten course tasting menu, one of us had the meat/fish option and the other vegetarian. Both tasting menus were absolutely fantastic, the attention to detail on each course and tastes were unreal. The service was attentive but not in your face. We had a bit of an issue with some fellow diners who were a little loud for us but we were discretely moved without any fuss after I had a word with the waitress. After the ten courses came handmade chocolates which we had boxed up as we just couldn't manage anymore treats!
We had a good nights sleep, the hotel was quiet but we did hear the odd door shutting and floorboard creaking, it's an old building, this is to be expected.
Breakfast was exceptional. The choice of fresh fruit, breads, pastries etc on the continental menu is vast. We also ordered from the cooked menu and the eggs Benedict were the best I've ever had. Service again was tremendous.
We travel a lot and have stayed in lots of different types of hotels and over the years I think we have become spoilt. Jesmond Dene House genuinely impressed us and made us feel special and desperate to want to go back again soon! Thanks a lot for making our wedding anniversary so special.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ukx0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,403 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £84 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing