We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try a rich mans afternoon tea.”
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a trip to walk the length of Jesmond dene and booked afternoon tea at the Jesmond Dene House Hotel to end off the day.
We arrived at a beautiful building and were greeted by welcoming staff to be shown to our table in a very nice room with the walls decorated with some interesting prints etc.
Afternoon tea consisted of a selection of finger sandwiches, various scones, clotted cream, preserves and butter along with cakes on a three tier server. Very tasty tea and coffee was also provided.
The sandwiches were very tasty and perfectly presented; the scones went down well with the clotted cream and strawberry preserve.
Macaroons were perfect as were the chocolate cakes but I think we all found the very tasty and unusual strawberry cake had a gelatinous coating that was just a bit too sweet, however the cake itself could not be faulted.
The staff were very attentive and helpful and wanted us to enjoy the experience.
In all, a good walk giving lots of exercise followed by a rest , a nice rich mans afternoon tea and a cake box to take away.
A bit pricey for a lot of people but well worth a visit to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gumblejum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I took my employees for my retirement lunch. The meal and service couldn't be faulted but the interior lighting in the public areas is wholly inadequate and does not enhance the lovely interior making it look very dreary. Whoever selected the lighting missed a trick! Large glass chandeliers would bring the whole place to life and add some desperately needed sparkle. Also the carpet in the dining area appears to be a very practical plastic, the sort of thing you'd find in a marquee. A plush carpet would be much more appropriate. Others I know who have visited say the same and I can't understand why nothing has been done as it lets the place down. It has put me off going again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently stayed here and had the tasting menu with accompanying wines. It was excellent and the whole experience was just delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel in every respect. Absolutely charming and wonderful food.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Standards are exceptionally good. The hotel decor and ambiance and rooms 1st class. Food is superb. Staff are brilliant and that's everyone including the housekeeping team. If you want that little bit extra and want to spoil someone do it.

Room Tip: We staid in room 23 overlooked the garden east facing room and bathroom good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterm030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My daughter was married there and we stayed 2nights over the weekend.
The hotel staff were all so pleasant and efficient that ten out of ten doesn't do them justice, we were in a number of different room types , The delux room in the main section of the house was really top notch. With a classy bathroom ,the bath/shower gels were Arran feel goods and the best of any hotel I have ever been in, needless to say we didn't leave any in the rooms. beds were comfortable , no cheap duvets here, there were stocked drink fridges in the rooms, expensive of course but if you can afford £200 b&bs then the drinks prices won't faze you, for the 2nd night we were moved to a room above the main hall, not so plush but still ok. Best of all was the bridal apartment, truly amazing, I really don't have words to describe it,All in a tremendous one off experience,

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank denis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Jesmond Dene House
Was a bit mixed.

The hotel & grounds were gorgeous, our room had quite a beautiful view and we had been upgraded for free upon arrival. The price was also very reasonable for the type of accommodation.

The hiking area behind the hotel ( I'm not sure if they're part of the Jesmond dene grounds) were also beautiful. Waterfalls & stone bridges all of it free to explore.

Some of the staff were fantastic. One gentleman sat and talked with us for quite some time. Other members of staff we a bit brusk.

It felt like they couldn't get us out of there fast enough. I'm
Not sure if its because we weren't in posh fancy clothes, rather just shorts and a tee shirt, either way.. We found those select few to be rather unpleasant.

The other down side was the meal.
What we had tasted quite good, but value for your money was more or less nonexistent.

Over all our experience was nice, not perfect, but nothing ever is!
I would visit again if I ever find myself in Newcastle!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were there last week for 2 nights and had an excellent stay. The room (in the main house) overlooked the gardens and was large with a beautifully appointed bathroom. At breakfast they did the best poached eggs I have ever tasted. Will definitely go back for an extended North East holiday based at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which overlooked the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdd_sw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,440 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,351 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing