We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

My recent stay at Jesmond Dene House Hotel was just perfect. I booked the hotel for my 40th Birthday so not only booked accommodation for myself and friends but also booked The Great Hall for the party. The location of the venue was fantastic, the staff were welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough to make my stay enjoyable. The standard of the rooms and the quality of the food were second to none - I can't wait to have another opportunity to go and stay. I highly recommend Jesmond Dene House Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharronash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    186
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
203
519
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

Great room. Loved the hotel - staff were really friendly and helpful. Checking in was the easiest I have ever experienced. Would certainly return - great location for walks and for Newcastle centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

The staff were very attentive, accommodating and professional. The hotel is beautiful and fascinating with many unique elements. Every client commented on their individual rooms and The Great Hall with its separate entrance and private bar was perfect for our function. I would certainly come straight back here to hold another function; especially now I am aware of the range of functions that Jesmond Dene House can easily accommodate.

If I was to make a constructive criticism it would be that their website does not do the fantastic venue justice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAlternative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed at the Jesmond Dene for 2 nights while on business in Newcastle this was my first visit to the hotel. The location is great, 10 mins from the city centre but as it is set in it's own grounds it is so quiet. First impressions were excellent, reception staff were friendly and the concierge was chatty and friendly. My room was beautiful, large with a comfy sofa, massive bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The shower was great, very powerful. Food was lovely. The staff can't do enough for you, it does make a change to find a hotel where all of the staff are so welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

The Jesmond Dene Hotel has a great reputation and it fully met our expectations. The staff are without exception attentive, helpful and welcoming; the accommodation is clean and homely and the food is memorable. Great ingredients simply cooked to a high standard and presented artistically on the plate. A special mention for the pastry chef for the fresh bread which appeared with every meal; it was always full of flavour yet light and baked to perfection. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxiaInteractive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Our first trip to Newcastle we had the most fortunate luck in booking the Jesmond Dene House. We arrived with no expecation and after two days this is by far one of the best hotel experiences in the UK. The hotel in itself is outstanding, the staff and atmosphere were unique. Every corner you turn is an experience and the most astonishing surprise was the restaurant, the Market Menu has to be one of the best kept secrets in the North, the service and food was sensational. I cannot reccomend it highly enough and I am looking forward to my next stay. I would rate this 6 stars.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_sylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

The welcoming was very friendly, especially the concierge. However the booking details were lost and we were given different prices to what we had been told on the telephone. After sorting this out we were pleasantly surprised by the room, which was a Junior suite. Unfortunately the lighting in the room is dreadful and I had to drag a floor lamp across the room to light up the suitcase. I've noticed in past reviews that other people have also complained about the lighting!! It might look romantic but it became an annoyance very quickly.

The food in the restaurant was very good, and the staff were efficient but could have been a little more friendly.

The breakfast was excellent, especially the muesli which was pre soaked, and the pears soaked in aniseed and cinnamon. The only annoyance was the staff serving the tea, they brought it to your table and poured it straight away which resulted in very weak tea.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovefinedining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Property: Jesmond Dene House
Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing