We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting links to our friends over the pond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Old Hall

Washington Old Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting links to our friends over the pond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This National Trust property is worth a visit. The interpretation sheets in each room are concise but helpful - lots of interesting displays. Perhaps not the lost impressive NT place but certainly one with strong connections to our American cousins. Helpful volunteers. Tea room pleasant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    69
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting Hall with connections to George Washington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Washington Old Hall was lived in by George Washington's ancestors and other families until 1933. There has been a hall on the site since 1183. What is on view is a 17th century dwelling with furniture brought in to recreate this era. It' a fairly small property with history to satisfy people on both sides of the pond

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EdDoc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“More than just a friendly cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We titled our review after the name of the cafe on site which deserves the title,but the whole site deserves an award for genuine friendliness!
This is a small site by N T standards but to use the old saying " good things come in small packages" has never been truer than for here.
There is so much to see and absorb in every room both about our own social history and that of our American cousins and the enthusiasm of the staff and volunteers makes it a pleasure to do so.
We visited on a dull autumn day yet the gardens were a delight and beautifully maintained. We are going back hopefully next spring and again in the summer to see the beauty of this place through the seasons and we look forward to enjoying the friendliness all over again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see but interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Cosy little place with very enthusiastic man running it. Disabled access fine for ground floor. Despite other criticism on this web site, the cafe was really good with excellent tea and locally made cakes at half the cost of NT prices. Strangely, the second hand books on sale were very overpriced!

Helpful?
1 Thank Satisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
456 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Exquisite Jacobean Gardens! Incredible History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Washington Old Hall is the ancestral home of the First American President, George Washington. Five generations of this family lived on the site until their immigration to the United States of America and to the State of Virginia where George Washington was born. Historically, the property was purchased by William de Heartburne who became William de Wessyngton and eventually, the name became Washington. The house incorporates a large part of the original 12th Century building while the other portions of the lovely house are from the 17th Century. The Jacobean Gardens are truly outstanding and have just received "Silver Place" recognition for the best of "Northumbria In Bloom. The "Nuttery" received a "Gold Place for Conservation" in the same "Northumbria In Bloom." There is a tea room. The curators are outstanding!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Old Hall also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Washington Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing