We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Roast”
Review of The Lock and Key Restaurant - CLOSED

The Lock and Key Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the gallowgate area of Newcastle near St James Park on the old Scottish and Newcastle Brewery site is The Lock and Key Restaurant. Located above NE4 Cafe Bar is this intimate restaurant. Offering quality food at a good cost.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited with my husband for Sunday lunch using a voucher. We didn't know what to expect at first but we were absolutely blown away by the Sunday Roast. One of the best both of us have had. I had the lamb and it was roasted to perfection. The roast potatoes, yorkshire pudding and vegetables were also spot on. However I think a special mention has to be made for the crackling and gravies. You get to request for crackling - it's awesome and there are a selection of 3 gravies, all of which are good but the mint gravy is truly excellent. Service was great as well, staff and chef are very friendly and warm. It can be a bit tricky to find initially with all the road work going on in that area - however as one reviewer mentioned - it is visible from Barrack Road (just through a little alley next to Sandman Signature). We really cannot wait to go back for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ai Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Roast and thought it was one of the best you'd had- we'll pass your compliments onto the Chef! The mint gravy is delicious, I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! Hopefully we will be easier to find once all the work has been completed, we hope to see you again shortly and invite you to like the Lock and Key on Facebook to keep up to date with offers such as our Journey to India night that is coming up! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for The Lock and Key Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited here before on a evening but though we would go for the Sunday carvery as they had a special on two for £10, was very busy but we had booked a table..
The meats were lovely&they gave you big cuts of it, roastys&Yorkshire puss were huge, chef even gave us 2nds of the Yorkshire puds
Vegetables came separately&did take a little while once we sat down with our dinners but it was very busy with two large parties inside,so understandable..veg was lovely&a good choice..
I have to admit iv never been a fan of carverys but will be definitely back for this..
Desserts were lovely,being a fan of sticky toffee we opted for that and trust me you will not be disappointed!
The chef and waiters were lovely,polite and very helpful!! Was nice to sit on the terrace afterwards with drinks and they had parking which was a bonus!
We will definitely be back again..

Thank luby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We're so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Carvery and found the portion sizes and food to your liking. Its great to hear you will be back to try our Carvery and that you enjoyed your sticky toffee pudding! We've got a delicious Venison Carvery for Fathers Day this weekend and also a Journey to India night coming up at the end of the month, we hope to see you again soon, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had initially visited for Sunday Lunch using a voucher - what great value and a very good experience. Based on this initial visit we decided to return for another Sunday Lunch - we had no advanced booking and arrived to a very warm and accommodating welcome - we only had to wait a few minutes whilst they prepared a table for us.

The whole team there are very friendly, efficient and polite. The food is exceptionally good value , the quality of the food is excellent, the meat never dry as many carvery's tend to be - the meal comes with all the trimmings ,the portions are large ( so go with an appetite). The vegetables are served separately and are well cooked (not over cooked) and at the last count there was 6 different kinds of vegetables.

This will become a regular for us and the family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BS-SGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback, we're so pleased you decided to visit us again and found the experience equally as enjoyable. We're pleased to hear you find the food good value and the meat well cooked with a good selection of vegetables. We hope to see you again soon, we also do a £4.95 specials menu downstairs in NE4, and are doing a special Venison Carvery for Fathers Day where all Dads get a free Pint! We also invite you to like Lock and Key on Facebook to keep up to date with offers. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went for the Sunday Carvery as a family. We booked the table and were running late, I phoned to let them know and there was no problems. From the minute we walked in to the minute we left the staff were very accommodating. We went for the Carvery and were extremely happy with both the quality of the food and portion sizes. The vegetables were cooked fresh and brought to the table. We finished off with a stick toffee pudding for desert, which was really good. We are all looking forward to going back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for the review. We're so pleased you found our staff helpful and friendly and were happy with the portion sizes and the quality of our food. We have a delicious Venison Carvery for Fathers Day which is looking to be a hit, we hope to see you again soon and invite you to like Lock and Key on Facebook to keep up to date with offers! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I think the food was lovely would go again and the service wasn't bad as we'll.
And the seating area out side was cosy :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback, the outside seating area is lovely in the Summer-we also do Shisha, non alcoholic mocktails and sharing platters! We hope to see you again soon and invite you to like the Lock and Key on Facebook, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock and Key Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing