We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & large portions”
Review of The Lock and Key Restaurant - CLOSED

The Lock and Key Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the gallowgate area of Newcastle near St James Park on the old Scottish and Newcastle Brewery site is The Lock and Key Restaurant. Located above NE4 Cafe Bar is this intimate restaurant. Offering quality food at a good cost.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food & large portions”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Went on Bank Holiday Monday for lunch. It was quiet but the staff (waiter) was really friendly, the food tasty and the portion size large.
Very good value for money!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we're pleased you found the food tasty and the service friendly! We hope to see you again soon, and invite you to like The Lock and Key on Facebook to keep up to date with offers, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    58
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't figure out why it wasn't busier”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our party of 4 visited on a Saturday night of a Bank Holiday weekend. There were only 2 other tables occupied. We felt the service was friendly, the food good and the prices reasonable and can't really work out why it wasn't busier.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaffakake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed our service and food! We do hope that with wonderful reviews like yours, more people will learn that we are here and hopefully it will be busier once building work is completed!Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Will be returning”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Great night with yummy food, very nice wine and great service. Value for money, tasty food which was very well presented and we were very well looked after by Ross who was attentive and fun. We will be returning soon

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemma5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review, its great that you enjoyed the food and felt Ross looked after you well! We can't wait to invite you back soon, and invite you to like The Lock and Key to keep up to date with offers and events! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Key to success”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

4 of us enjoyed a very good meal at this restaurant on a Living Social voucher. We were warmly greeted by Eugene who gave us a little of the history of the site , ( i.e. the site of an ancient prison) and we were well attended to by Ross, Sarah and Kirstie. The starters were of the highest quality , ( the black pudding with bacon sausage etc nearly a main course on its own) and the steak sharing platter exquisite and plentiful. The wine reasonably priced at £10 per bottle before 8pm and good value. We will certainly return to this very friendly restaurant and it deserves to be a roaring success.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and the impromptu history lesson about our site! Its great to hear you enjoyed your food and we will pass your wonderful comments onto our chef. We can't wait to welcome you back again and invite you to like The Lock and Key on Facebook to keep up to date with offers, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a shopping trip in Newcastle and as we had seen good write-ups on this place decided to give it a try. We entered the empty restaurant and waited to be greeted for a good 10 minutes. A chef came and asked what we were waiting for and told us they were not serving food in the restaurant and we would have to go into the bar. My wife asked if it was the same menu and was told yes. We went into the bar which was very basic and had no atmosphere. The menu was not the same as the restaurant. We left very disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank daved476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Manager at The Lock and Key Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Dave,
Unfortunately when you arrived at the venue it was 11.45am, our restaurant is open from 12pm - 9pm. As you can see from 99% of our reviews our guests have come to expect only the best in service and quality at The Lock & Key Restaurant.
If you would like to make a reservation in the future, please feel free to contact us directly on info@ne4.co or 0191 649 8325.
Many Thanks,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock and Key Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing