We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I recently worked in Newcastle for 6 months. It was the first time I stayed away from my wife and daughter and it was important to find a homely place. Maxine and her family that run the B&B were a joy, they made me very welcome. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation, I had no issues and my rooms was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoMattPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

A last minute booking, I only stayed one night with my daughter visiting my son who's at Newcastle University. I wish I could have stayed longer! The room was spotlessly clean. It was the family room in the rafters so the bathroom was a little cramped but the welcome we recieved from Maxine during our stay more than compensated. Her breakfast for all of us was superb and my poached eggs were absolutely perfect! I've stayed in several chain hotels in Newcastle before and paid more for much less. This is a family home as well as a hotel/B&B, so altogether more personal and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Had a comfortable stay for close to three weeks at the Adelphi. Situated in a very quiet locality, shops and restaurants are at walking distance. Excellant value for money with spacious clean rooms. Breakfasts are good. Maxine looks after to the comfort of her guests and is well informed about the places to visit. Enjoyed my stay and will certainly stay at the Adelphi when visiting NewCastle again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at Adelphi Hotel for 10 days. Our stay was enjoyable... great family business... very personable...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, 6th&7th june 2012.
Lovely, spacious room, very clean. Really nice breakfast and a very friendly welcome from Maxine and her dad. Will definately be staying there again when working in newcastle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This is a comfortable and clean B & B. We had very friendly service, the breakfast was good and the beds very comfortable. Got exactly what we paid for not 5* but then not 5* prices either. Good location also.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Adelphi hotel Jesmond Newcastle, got the best ever GEORDIE welcome from Maxine the owner and her staff, it is in easy reach of the city of Newcastle where there is a huge selection of cafe's restaurants and night clubs, prefered the Quayside hope spelling is ok.
We had a brilliant laugh with her father and brothers what geniune people they are. Maxine works her fingers to the bone never stopping, yet still manages a smile no matter when you bump into her. The mornings are the best first thing errr i don't mean as we open our eyes i'm on about breakfast time serves up a great full English.

I've read a couple of moaners about this hotel the only thing i can agree with is it is not a hotel but a brilliant bed and breakfast guest house.
Maxine and co take no notice of the very rude moaners i get the feeling that if they approached you with a problem instead of hiding behind a review after the even you would have sorted there problems out.
When these moaners decide to create a bad review instead look at your bill mine was £60 per room per night and my room was very comfortable and CLEAN, go and check out the 5 star plus but then don't moan when you get the huge bill, i bet you will be running back and i hope the owners remember you and tell you where to go.

I rest my case.
See you again soon.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Room Tip: Top room at front very comfy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
848 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gosforth
192 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 19 in Newcastle upon Tyne
235 reviews
5.3 mi away
East Byermoor Guest House
East Byermoor Guest House
#2 of 19 in Newcastle upon Tyne
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 63 Fern Avenue | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £67 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing