We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at the adelphi the 13-16 three night ,mainly for the football newcastle v southampton ,located in a quiet area of jesmond,about 20 mins walk in to town ,very friendly hosts making it like home, breakfast very good ,biggest rooms iv stayed in , nothing to much trouble , 5 min walk to the popular osbourne rd area lots of great bars and resturants.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
21
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, Wales, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a great place! Located In leafy Jesmond, I found the hotel welcomIng and really homely. The room I had was great - comfy bed (great decor all round), TV, coffee/tea - wIth a shared shower (though, I was the only one that had access to It). Really frIendly owner, great breakfast - would love to stay here In the near future. Shops near by and lots of swanky bars - but the hotel Is In a quIet road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stay regularly here and enjoy it every time. A warm welcome, a clean comfortable room and a great breakfast. What more do you want. Oh and also great location. The owners can not do enough for you attending to every request.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanuktours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We last stayed at the Adelphi on 28th July and it was lovely, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, good breakfast and great price for the night.
I had a heart transplant last year at The Freeman Hospital and was very poorly before that. My husband "lived" at the Adelphi for about 9 months, and every time we go up to Newcastle we will be staying at the Adelphi. Maxine is very friendly and helpful, nice family run business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Reading some reviews makes me wonder at peoples expectations. it is very good value for money the owners mum collected our bags from station who could ask more. It is a very clean well appointed B&B (yes its a B&B not 5 star) our twin room and shower room was lovely. It is NOT dingy it is a very bright and clean entrance and the ironing board and iron is for all visitors to use great idea. The breakfast was very good and fresh fruit which you do not always get in B&B or HOtels. It was a good start to our Hadrians Wall Walk. from the 4 potty ladies

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

More of a B & B than an hotel. Downside, - no soap or shampoo supplied so make sure you take your own, Get your self a set of muscles first, as the doors to our room needed a mm or two shaved off, difficult to open.

Upside - great area of Newcastle, peaceful, quiet even though Osborne street was round the corner(15 or 20 bars). Great walk to the centre(15 mins 20 if you slower)(we thought so anyway).
Room was exactly as the foto, almost like a suite. Spacious and simply decorated. large bathroom. Bed was so comfortable could have slept 12 hours.

The owner Maxine very friendly and helpful. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulie2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Please do not be put off by the negative reviews !!! My husband and i stayed at the adelphi for 2 nights, friday and saturday. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by maxine who i have to say is a very lovely lady, nothing was a bother for her and believe me we did bother her but had nothing to do with her or her lovely home, just our own absentmindedness which is another story. We were shown to our room which was on the second floor, the room was bright, airy and clean, tea, coffee and sugar in cannisters, not them little sachets which u need half a dozen of to make a decent cuppa coffee, table and chairs, flat screen tv on the wall and one of the biggest most comfortable beds ive ever slept in was great. Now breakfast yes the breakfast room was small but this is a small hotel, again it was clean and bright and yes right beside the kitchen exactly where you,d expect the breakfast room to be, breakfast was cooked to order anything you wanted from full english to cereal and friut and as much as you wanted it wasnt limited, large pot of tea or coffee and pleasant conversation, we asked maxine for a good place to eat and she pointed us in the direction of the fat hippo a fabulous burger place just up off the main avenue were all the bars and hotels are which turned out to be a little gem, not your average burger joint by any means, if your going up there and you like freshly cooked handmade burgers and the best homemade chips this place is great, although a bit more expensive its well worth it for good food, jesmond is a really nice place to visit, the dene is beautiful, and the reason we went the racecourse which is about 15 mins from the adelphi by cab and was less than a tenner each way and our return was after midnight. One person commented on the student accomodation around the hotel, im a smoker and had to go outside and not once did i hear any loud music or party,s and we were there on a weekend, was lovely and peaceful. The hotel is close enough to the city for access but far enough away so not to be bothered by the noise of other hotels and bars, we parked our car up all weekend (which maxine also provides permits for) and we walked everywhere was great. We had a great weekend and hopefully will be going back to jesmond and the adelphi soon. thank you again maxine we relly enjoyed our stay !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 63 Fern Avenue | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing