We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick and tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Hippo - CLOSED

The Little Hippo
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Born on 10th February 2012, The Little Hippo is fast becoming one of the main attractions of the bustling Acorn Road in West Jesmond. We serve a selection of clubs freshly made each morning (toasting optional). On top of this, we also provide some great quality street food to take out or eat in including a selection of 'Fat Dogs' (180mm pork sausage from the award winning 'Rothbury Family Butchers), pulled pork sandwiches and much much more...
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here for a quick lunch stop to take away. Changed around since the last time I was here and seemingly a smaller menu? But more than just sandwiches and salads when it was a deli. Got the Cajun chicken salad box for £4. Reasonable. Nice mix of lettuce, sundried tomato, roasted pepper and chicken. Service was informal but efficient. Too much dressing on the salad but overall I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Value Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a really relaxed little restaurant/cafe in Jesmond, and ideal if you're looking for something just a little bit more special than your average shop-bought lunch offering. I tried the salt beef sandwich - really tasty, and good value. One of my friends ordered the hot dog though and food-envy ensued! The service staff are pretty hipster so don't expect too much chat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch time venue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a really tasty pulled pork sandwich today - couldn't fault it. Great place for a quick lunchtime snack. Casual and informal with an interesting menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Food was ok, a little bit more greasy than necessary but still tasty. Would much rather eat in the fat hippo on their early evening menu than at this smaller sister restaurant as it's much better value for money!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RustyTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely jambalaya, cute and casual lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Such a cute little restaurant! It's very small inside and meant mostly for takeaway I think. There are two medium sized communal tables inside, but that's it. There's a selection of sandwiches and drinks in a case, and you can get the sandwiches toasted if you want - they're all made that day. They also have a variety of specials - when we came in, they had a menu of different beef sausages (or, hot dogs, I suppose!) that you could get different ways - the only one I remember was Chicago style but I can get behind that!! They also had a salt beef bagel which my boyfriend got, and I got the jambalaya with pulled pork. The salt beef bagel was okay - not as good as the ones in Brick Lane, but not bad. The jambalaya we both enjoyed much more. I wouldn't say it's jambalaya at all actually, but it was a lovely tomato and lentil stew. It would be delicious without the pork but not nearly substantial enough. The pork was smoky and juicy and the perfect complement.

Everything is inexpensive, and they have a variety of coffee drinks as well. The guys working behind the counter were funny and friendly. Though we're keen to try the Fat Hippo next time, we'd surely come back if we needed a quick lunch in Jesmond again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Hippo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing