We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Land lady is a ledge!!”
Review of The Hanson Hotel

The Hanson Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hanson Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Land lady is a ledge!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

14 of us stayed at the Hansen for 2 nights last weekend and we were all so impressed with how Meg, the landlady, was so prepared for our hen weekend. She gave us 2 paper slips with the name of the hotel on it and the code to the door written on the back. When I asked her why we needed 2 she simply said "thats for when you get p! $$€* and loose one"!! She also handed us an approved taxi business card and said that they will get us home safely and cheaply. The cards even had a picture of the hotel on it so all we had to do was show the driver and he would know where to take us! Breakfast was great, rooms clean, towels changed daily and beds comfy. This is not designed for a luxurious or romantic getaway- this is hen/stag weekend accommodation done properly! Great weekend away and Meg's bulldog DuDu is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life-is-a-diet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    32
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
7
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Meg (the landlady) is brilliant! Very down to earth and totally geared up for stag and hen parties. Rooms are clean and have everything you need even tea and coffee making facility's for the mornings hangover. The breakfast is good and well worth getting up for.
There were 17 in our group from Kent and we all agreed it was the the perfect hotel in the perfect location for what we were doing. This is not somewhere you'd stay for a romantic weekend with your partner and it doesn't claim to be!
Easy acess from the Metro too.
Maximum respect for Meg she's a star.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svickery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed there for my stag weekend. The hotel was perfect for me and my mates! Clean, tidy, and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was just perfect after a night out!! I would highly recommend this hotel for any lads or lasses in groups wanting an ideal place to stay! Only a shirt taxi drive into town or a ten minute walk. I'd Definately stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markgixxer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed in the Hansen hotel for 3 nights with four friends ........ when we arrived at the hotel we had a lovely warm welcome from "MEG" the landlady she showed us straight to our rooms which were a tidy size nice and really clean ....... the cooked breakfast is outstanding and she catered for any of our needs as some of us were on certain diets ....... she was more tahn happy to help "like a mother" and as wild as we went the weekend she has already welcomed us back next time...... if this was premier inn travellodge or any other hotel. We would have been out on our heads after the first night never to return haha!!!!! when we go back in the summer there will be no question in which hotel to stay in and i would recomend it to everyone and anyone . :) thanks for an amazing weekend .......

Room Tip: If you go on a stag or a boys weekend the 4 or 5 sharer rooms are outstanding for partying as they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at the Hansen Hotel two nights. I took a taxi from the train station and it was about £5 and since it was pouring outside it was really worth it! The hotel is so close to town and to the Metro station (Jesmond), less than 5mins walk. Meg is simply wonderful! It was lovely to receive her warm welcome after a 10hour-journey from London! The room was big and very clean and the bathroom too (single ensuite room). Clean towels provided every day. It was a bit noisy during the night because of the heating, but I slept with no problem at all. I went to Newcastle to do some academic research and whenever I have to go back I would definitely stay there again and again! Breakfast is included and it was simply AMAZING!The best full English breakfast ever (I'm from Italy)! You can order whatever you like and it is always freshly cooked! Thank you Meg!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vi269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The perfect location, so close to town, £3 taxi journey! For the price you literally can't complain about anything, Meg is lovely, so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Loved that she gave us plastic cups for our pre drinks and a takeaway delivery menu to order food when we came back...it made the weekend so much better staying at the Hansen, would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with 5 friends and would like to say how lovely it was to receive such a warm welcome from Meg the owner-nothing was ever too much trouble and we all felt totally at home. We have all agreed that staying at the Hanson hotel definitely made our stay in newcastle. I would certainly stay again and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angieb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanson Hotel

Property: The Hanson Hotel
Address: 131 Sandyford Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE33 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hanson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hanson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing