We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirt”
Review of Grainger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grainger Hotel
Reviewed 29 June 2013

the room look clean but on taking a closer look needed cleaning under chair and dressing table
shower had black moled and soap scum on shower door must have there some time air vent on bathroom wall full of dirt, toilet had not been cleaned, tapps over wash basin lose very dirt under wash basin my daugters room was no better I beleive if trading standards visited they would close it down we only stop one night but book two At the hospital for 7 hours with my daughter and preferred to drive home than stay an other night 4 hour drive

Room Tip: Just do not book find an other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Me and 3 friends booked to stay in this hotel, for one night so we could enjoy the wellknown Newcastle nightlife.
On arriving to our room, we noticed it hadn't been cleaned following the departure of previous guests. When informing the receptionist of this, he seemed genuinely sorry, however the cleaners made us feel uncomfortable and bad for asking for our room to be cleaned. Which essentially should have been done prior to our arrival.
Additionally in the morning, I woke up covered in bites, causing me to have a severe reaction and to have to take time off work. Furthermore, whatever insect had feasted on me, managed to get into my suitcase and make a suitable living in my home and continued to cause me problems.
The general cleanliness of the hotel was poor, breakfast were merely fruit and toast and the staff were uncooperative.
Moreover, they have a strange policy where you have to hand your keys in everytime you leave the hotel, which was annoying.
However, the room size was ok (We had the quad room) and the hotel was closely located to town (only a fiver in taxi).
The shower was better than mine at home, but the toilet felt like it was about to fall over and so did the sink.
Finally they did not provide full towels as I was told, they had only given us 3 tiny hand towels between 4 of us.

I would not recommend staying here unless you don't mind dirtiness and been bitten to death.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The rooms were tiny, and unbearably hot. Opening the window just allowed in the noise from the road and revellers rolling home. Combined with the uncomfortable beds I had nearly zero sleep. Keys have to be handed in... Good luck getting the right key back. My friend was given the complete wrong key and I was told the room I was in and had been all day wasn't mine when I went to get the keys back. My room mate was nearly kicked out of the hotel despite the fact the booking was in her name and all of her stuff in the room. The staffs attitude was disgusting. There was a large group of us staying in seperate rooms and they wouldn't let us visit each other between the rooms. We didn't bring anyone extra and everyone slept in their right rooms but they wanted to know exactly how long we'd be in each others rooms and would come & chase us out like school children. Didn't bother with breakfast based of the overall standard of the hotel. Would genuinely rather sleep on the street than go back here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubert87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a gig and to see Newcastle. I wish we'd have paid more for a different hotel! The room was tiny, and boiling hot but we couldn't open the window because of the amount of traffic on the road outside. (Traffic obviously not the hotel's fault!)

The bed was extremely uncomfortable, to the point where my back was still hurting a week later. The bathroom was tiny and not completely clean, though the shower itself was great.

Guests are expected to leave their keys with reception when they go out which made me really uncomfortable as there was different staff at the reception each time we saw them, so anyone could have asked for our key.

Breakfast was terrible, the toaster took around 10 minutes to toast and the selection of food wasn't great.

Car parking was £5 extra per day/night, and our request for this was ignored though thankfully we found a (free) space right outside the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here overnight after a gig at the Metro Arena. Easy walk to the arena and back, although all uphill coming back! The room we had in the attic was minute and the bathroom was unbelievably tiny, but on the plus side it was clean, warm and comfortable. The bed was a bit lumpy and I wouldn't have wanted to be in it for more than one night. The staff were fairly pleasant and helpful in regards to getting to the arena, etc. The breakfast was continental, help yourself, but adequate. To sum up, if you want luxury or high quality stay away, but if you want cheap and clean give it a go.

Room Tip: The attic rooms at the front are tiny so perhaps avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbriangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Dont go there!!!!!!Customer service is appalling. The so called manager is not interested in clients at all.
We recently stayed there for one night which was enough.
The rooms are far too small.
When we arrived there was no heating on in the rooms. I found an old fan heater in our room which had seen better days!!My elderly mother and aunt had no heating in their room either and the lights were not working.
I was offered a another room for my mum and aunt and a fan heater was eventually brought in for them.
The beds had no mattress covers.

Some girls complained at reception whilst I was there that their room door would not lock,the shower did not work and they found bits of glass under the bed.!!!!They asked for their money back.The man did not even apologise.

I believe a millionaire owns this hotel.He needs to get his act together and spend money on people who are professionally qualified and have the customer service skills that are required.

I believe there are lots of complaints at weekends too.

Letsbookhotel.com for gods sake take this off your site now.

Room Tip: Check size before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Adequate at best and only Nescafe available at breakfast! Even the tackiest places I've stayed in in the UK make some concession to 'proper' coffee. Pleasant enough staff but at £50 for the night I did not get anything resembling value for money.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.3 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#72 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#60 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grainger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grainger Hotel

Address: Westgate Road | Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6UJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £25 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grainger Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grainger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing