We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay here”
Review of Grainger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grainger Hotel
Reviewed 9 February 2014

we booked into this hotel, and when we got into the rooms sat on the beds to find the mattresses belonged in a skip, there was nothing left in them and you could feel the cross member of the bed base across your back really bad nights sleep, we had a room on the road side front of building loads of traffic noise, also kept awake all night due to noise in hotel you can hear people on the stairs and in the rooms on the floor above. rooms were too small, when my wife pulled the curtains open in the morning they came off the rail, the top covers on the beds were like cardboard felt like cord carpet, when we pulled them off we found what looked like curry & food stains on the underside of it near the bottom of the bed. staff seemed miserable just sat at desk felt like they were only there to pass you the key and take it back off you when you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkennedy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

When arrived a lot of dodgey people about outside,got in room no heating.when we came back in evening got into bed and realised no pillowcases on pillows but before that closed curtains and didn't cover window so had 6 inch gap either end and on the main road,anyway back in the bed and the mattress was knackered so didn't have a good night and then in the morning no hot water

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel staff were very unwelcoming, the rooms were tiny as well as the bathrooms. The location is very poor and near what seemed to be a hang out for heavy drug users. The breakfast was poor, with a lack of choice

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiresandwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in....staff so unfriendly and not helpful....room was tiny and no where to sit other than the bed.....u have to hand key into reception when u r going out when we came back in we had to wait 20 mins for someone to come to reception to give us our key....I had to fone the hotel from my mobile and explain I was waiting for my key....no apology at all..he looked at us as if we were a nuisense to him.....staff not interested at all....my advice would be to avoid

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank nightnurse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I had stayed here as was the cheapest for new years eve. What was good was a secure car park and breakfast was only £2.00 Not good was despite booking on booking com they charged me two pounds to pay by car this website does not advise this or that car parking is extra. I will be contacting booking com. Room was small and dated. The Previous room I used a few years back was okay. I will either not bother for New Years Eve or go somewhere else there is a beeter hotel across the orad but was closed on New Years Eve. I was only the person using the breakfast room on New years day and the toasting machine was not set up.

Room Tip: Use other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This place is a total dump.Do not stay here at any price.It is full of DSS guests so owner's make no effort to keep clean.This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.The shower packed up completely.The room door cannot be locked ! total 100% DUMP

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Rissyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Although check is was quick and staff OK whole hotel needed updating and refurb. Breakfast was very very basic with little choice. Glad I got a deal and only paid £20 as would definitely not have been happy if I had paid more.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank 9flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
639 reviews
1.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#74 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#34 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#60 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grainger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grainger Hotel

Address: Westgate Road | Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6UJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £29 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grainger Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Grainger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing