We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food with nice staff”
Review of Gosforth Palace

Gosforth Palace
Ranked #311 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Gosforth Palace we take pride in serving you with the finest Chinese cuisine. All dishes are freshly prepared to our own special recipes using the choicest of ingredients. Please view a menu to see our specialities. We can offer a separate room seating up to 30 guests, available for private celebrations and business meetings. For weddings or larger functions, the entire restaurant can be reserved for parties of up to 150 people. Karaoke singing facilities are also available on request. Gosforth Palace is fully licensed and air-conditioned, providing relaxed and comfortable surroundings in which to dine, all year round. Our customers receive personal attention and friendly service. We recommend telephoning in advance to make a reservation and look forward to welcoming you to Gosforth Palace.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food with nice staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visited two times during our stay in Newcastle. Could do with some improvements but has such a nice feel to it that am not sure if it truly needs any

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    20
    9
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude staff!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband, son and I visited for Sunday lunch as our usual haunt was full and thought this would be as good alternative. Big mistake! Should have left and gone somewhere else with in 5 mins of arriving.

The staff were rude, patronizing and seriously disliked the fact we had chosen to bring a toddler out for lunch with us, the waiter had the cheek to argue over what we wanted to order. Whilst the food was good we were unable to enjoy it and were made to feel extremely unwelcome. Needless to say we ate our food very quickly and left...never to return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddiellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late evening meal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Popped in on spec with family on a Saturday night after 9pm and it was surprisingly busy.
Staff very attentive and helpful and fitted us in. Food excellent as always and pretty prompt since we stuck to the 'set menu' option.

They always like to close up fairly promptly in the evening and midweek can be ready to leave with coats on by 10ish. Saturday it was about 11ish but we weren't the last ones there.

I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant but don't expect to hang around late especially midweek.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Terrific Singaporean food.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I know that the food is Singaporean as this is the example.
The food is brilliant as are the so polite and friendly staff.
As above says this is with out doubt the best the best food with that Singaporean/Malaysian touch.
Can't fault it.

Best wishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I love this Place”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a great restaurant ! The food is top notch and the staff very friendly ! Would have no reservation recommending this place !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleMarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gosforth Palace also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Gosforth Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing