We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS SUNDAY LUNCH”
Review of Barluga

Barluga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$55
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FABULOUS SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Partner ordered rare beef and it was rare, mine was well done which is how I like it. Fabulous waitress, great red wine. Crunchy veg. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    146
    45
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
253 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Post work drinks and sharing snacks tonight was relaxed, tasty & reasonably priced. We shared a baked Camembert which was creamy, pungent and delicious with cold glasses of Sauvignon Blanc. Classy, calm atmosphere.
To improve? I would suggest olives served with drinks and regarding Camembert the bread should be toasted with garlicky olive oil & sea salt rather than just plain sliced...

Helpful?
Thank Venus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal will definitely be back!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went for Father's Day lunch as a family with our 2 children 12 & 14. (Kids are only allowed in till 7pm) Three of us had Sunday lunch which was delicious and my son had chicken burger which he thoroughly enjoyed. The meal sizes were great too, and deserts were to die for. We also thought it wasn't to expensive and the staff were so friendly and helpful, even the manager ask us at the end of our meal if everything was ok. We will be definitely going back, might be nice to try on a night time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had another really fantastic family meal at Barluga. Eight of us had a table booked and were really well looked after by a very efficient and friendly waitress. After sorting drinks, we ordered starters and mains which involved some adjustments but everything arrived exactly as ordered. A mixture of Sunday lunch (including the trio of meats), butchers steak, mussels, burgers, steak sand which, and pasta were the requirement.The food was really good as always and we all enjoyed the meal - the empty plates proof of this including the kids. We always enjoy the experience here and the food quality is as good as anywhere. We all look forward to returning and this will be soon. Thanks Barluga

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ate here before going to a concert, and didn't want a heavy meal. We had several light bites, spicy chicken wings, sausage roll and pickle, tempura prawns, pork and leek sausages, french fries, bread and olives. Very tasty. Had 2 drinks each and it was £48 in total. Very good service, nice ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barluga also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Barluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing