We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food for thought 77” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barluga

Barluga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$55
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North East England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food for thought 77”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Early Thursday evening. 24th July, met my wife down Grey Street after work, and although there are many restaurants in that area, we decided on Barluga. The place was busy with drinkers, but there were very few diners. We were shown upstairs, and had the opportunity to look at the beautiful decor in the building. Our menus arrived, and both the starters and the main courses were cooked to perfection. The menu is not expensive. Our bill with a bottle of wine amounted to £43.75. The service was not rushed. There is an area upstairs which has about 16 seats where people can enjoy al fresco dining. More diners arrived and there was about 12 eating upstairs when we left at approx 7.30.pm. Even when the restaurant is not busy upstairs, it picks its ambience and atmosphere up from downstairs in the bar snack and drinks area. Enjoyed everything about it, and will definately go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodforthought77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    140
    41
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perhaps not for children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, with great food, but whilst children are catered for with a children's menu and high chairs, the slow service made for an uncomfortable experience. It is generally expected now, that children will receive activities to do whilst waiting in the form of coloring, activity booklet etc, but none were offered so assumed unavailable. I stopped taking activities since the children always preferred to do what the restaurant offered. I would definitely go again, but without the children.

Helpful?
Thank Ceemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FABULOUS SUNDAY LUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Partner ordered rare beef and it was rare, mine was well done which is how I like it. Fabulous waitress, great red wine. Crunchy veg. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Post work drinks and sharing snacks tonight was relaxed, tasty & reasonably priced. We shared a baked Camembert which was creamy, pungent and delicious with cold glasses of Sauvignon Blanc. Classy, calm atmosphere.
To improve? I would suggest olives served with drinks and regarding Camembert the bread should be toasted with garlicky olive oil & sea salt rather than just plain sliced...

Helpful?
Thank Venus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal will definitely be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went for Father's Day lunch as a family with our 2 children 12 & 14. (Kids are only allowed in till 7pm) Three of us had Sunday lunch which was delicious and my son had chicken burger which he thoroughly enjoyed. The meal sizes were great too, and deserts were to die for. We also thought it wasn't to expensive and the staff were so friendly and helpful, even the manager ask us at the end of our meal if everything was ok. We will be definitely going back, might be nice to try on a night time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barluga also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Barluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing