We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Ranked #593 of 1,279 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$37 - US$37
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful, never again !”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having seen a lot of check in's from friends on face book for Frankie & Benny's we though we'd give it a go.
Oh my goodness I wished we hadn't bothered, we waited ages to be served and when the food came, hubby's chips were cold & soggy & my burger was cold,we are on a tight budget & don't like waste, we ate what we could & couldn't wait to be out, we wont be going back that's for sure, it was 20.00 odd quid down the pan as far as we were concerned =(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie-winch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear debola67,
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your visit to our Newcastle restaurant. We'd like to assure you that this doesn't sound like our normal standard of food, and we have passed your comments on to the Area Manager in charge of the branch to ensure the issues that you have raised and the reasons for the poor standards are fully addressed.
We hope that you will visit us again, and that your faith in our restaurant can be restored.
Thanks
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    32
    21
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Went to this restaurant in John Dobson St in Newcastle. Waited 5 mins for someone to come to see us, then we were told we had to wait 15 mins for a table and we could wait in the bar although there were tables empty. we were told this was because there was a teachers strike on !!!!!!!!!!!. This is the second time I have been to this restaurant and I accepted that the previous time it was the run up to Christmas and it was busy but Frankie & Benny don't spoil decent fast? food with terrible service. Invest in staff so your customers don't have to wait too long.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bramblekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Great Atmosphere ”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved this place! The staff was excellent. Such kind people. The food was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Ladyrider1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“mmmm yummy breakfast”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

we had breakfast here on the sunday before we traveled home it was Delicious and for only £5 per breakfast it was great value

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dellylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blessed by the staff”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Went this afternoon with my friend and my 2 children. When we arrived, it seemed quiet and we waited a little moment or two for a member of staff, it seemed that they were short staffed. We were shown to a table and sadly it took a while for the staff to attend in between drinks orders and drinks deliveries ect... Was a while until we got to make our order.The starters came promptly with the childrens mains and were slightly cool, but edible. Then sadly it did take an hour for the mains to arrive. But needless to say, the staff were friendly and I completely understood and wasn't mad. The Manager came to our table to see if we were okay *without us asking for him ) and apologised for the service ect... and that the meals were on them today. We were overwhelmed with this because we weren't overrun with funds :) Then after we ate, we were offered free deserts and the children got seconds of desserts too. We were looked after nicely for the wait we had. Alll in all I think we were in there 2.45 hours, but were grateful for being treat the way we were. Would definitely go back as its obvious there were just staffing issues, but everything else was lovely. Mrs Marshall - Blyth

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanneEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne also viewed

 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing