We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strada - CLOSED

Strada
Price range: US$25 - US$62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: With floor-to-ceiling glass frontage and outdoor seating, Strada makes the most of its views over the shoppers of Old Eldon Square. This contemporary restaurant serves up simple and freshly prepared regional Italian dishes, including hand-spun pizza, pasta, risotto and grilled meat and fish. The drinks list is faithfully Italian with native wine, beer and liqueurs.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here with a friend, used the taste card, amazing prices even though we also had wine ! Recommend the prawns to start, amazing - I opted without the chilli, was delicious. Had the pork for main, with the butter sage sauce, again amazing.

Would definitely come here again, even without the taste card

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the food xxxx”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

One of the best places I took my family out for lunch. The food is so tasty, plenty of choices for fussy eaters and the prices are not bad at all(look for deals as they have something going on most of the times). We all loved it and can't wait to go back! Excellent service offered by staff as well,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed a lovely meal here with my partner. It wasn't heaving which was nice but we were in around 3pm on a Saturday so didn't expect it to be. When we were shown to our table the tables around us needed to be cleared but the waiter apologised before we'd even noticed and they were cleared really quickly. Had a bottle of wine between us, the sharing antipasto starter with some olives which was really delicious and generous in size. For main, I had the Pollo Milanese which was really tasty and a generous size - I couldn't finish it all. My partner had the burger and said it was lovely. The service was excellent and very efficient. Would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Magnificent place to be n eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely staff n marvellous food n drink. Will return thankyou
Family r bragging about how delightful the staff where and how scrumptious the food is. Very grateful for this fab place.

Helpful?
4 Thank d p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“overpriced poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staff were friendly and lovely, the only saving grace of this restaurant. Given the location I expected this restaurant to be lovely. It was overpriced and me and my friend were both never off the toilet the next day. I'd had seafood pasta which was mediocre at best. Will be steering clear in future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RustyTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strada also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing