We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely faultless”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Ranked #119 of 1,386 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It started with a seed. An idea shared amongst friends. They imagined a secret garden, where all can enjoy the curious refreshments of nature...
Reviewed 10 May 2017

I booked this restaurant for a mid week lunch with 4 friends to celebrate one of the said friends 70th birthday, a very special occasion. When making the booking I mentioned that we would like a nice seat in the restaurant (with a view of Grey Street) and that’s exactly what we got. We each had 3 courses and every single one was fabulous, camembert cheese to start with, followed by scampi and chips which was then followed by white chocolate mousse. I truly could not find fault with anything. We had a lovely young lady serving us, friendly, pleasant, attentive (without being over-the-top), chatty and just downright nice! We all thoroughly enjoyed our special occasion meal.

Thank Trish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your amazing review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit here and appreciated the stunning views and delicious food. We look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,031 of 4,025 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Dined here last night (forgetting that Take That were at the arena) and despite not having a table, they managed to find us a table for two within half an hour. Had two gins with dinner, however I have had the cocktails previously and they are amazing. The Peach and Kiwi Fizz is a firm favourite! They also happily accomodated to a gluten free menu. Excellent value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank socia1butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Great review, thank you very much :) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Food very good. Tried a cocktail which was verty enjoyable. The surroundings are very quirky. Great service from very attentive staff. Well worth a visit

    • Value
Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Great review, thank you! We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Visited for the 1st time today as was recommended. Really nice decoration and quirky feel. Had live music on which was good. Lots of choice for cocktails. Had a hanging kebab for my main which was amazing. Would definitely visit again.

Thank paigecollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Lovely review, thank you :) We cant wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

This place is nice with a fantastic rooftop terrace overlooking the monument area. Good selection of beers with live music and friendly atmosphere. Gets busy and rightly so.

Thank mrandmrsh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed the terrace and atmosphere. We hope to see you again very soon for some more beers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing