We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not easy to find, but worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradiso

Paradiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Paradiso Newcastle - NORTH EAST RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016 As voted by the Food Awards England. One of those restaurants you'll discover by word of mouth rather than by walking past, Paradiso is a local family run restaurant that has been a mainstay on the Newcastle gastro scene for 20 years. Tucked away down Market Lane, Paradiso is a hidden treasure. The restaurant is split into three main floors. The first floor, which is also the main seating floor seats up to 60, has a bar and a spacious outdoor terrace for alfresco dining. The second floor contains the open-plan kitchen and another seating area, which is able to seat up to 50. This floor is smaller than the first floor, but is still capable of holding large parties with ease, and again, we can accommodate parties of any size and number. If you require more privacy, our third floor is a private dining room which can seat up to 45. As this room features skylights, it is a bright, warm space and is spacious enough to be used for any kind of event, such as dining, presentations and so on.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not easy to find, but worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Wandering around the Quayside and feeling peckish, I stumbled upon Paradiso.
Always self concious when eating alone, Guiseppe made me feel a wanted and valued customer.

The surroundings are lovely, their motto list on the wall endearing and their sea food, sublime.

In over forty years of eating mussels, I have never had more perfectly cooked ones, they simply melted in the mouth.

The Sea Bass, with sweet potato mash, asparagus and sundried tomato garnish were equally as good.

If not busy, Guiseppes will happily discuss football, particularly if it includes his beloved Napoli. I spent a great twenty minutes doing so over a complementary Limoncello (I ate before the rush period).I will DEFINITELY return, every time I visit Newcastle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesdalton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    185
    73
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Dined here in early July 2013, the food was beautiful and service spot on.
We came here in the beautiful sunshine and were able to sit outside and relax with a drink.

Thankyou, will be coming here more often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Don't judge book by its cover!

Simple yet delicious food. Friendliest service I have ever had whilst in a city centre. Can not recommend highly enough. Will visit again 100%

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesyoung564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sparkling Paradiso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Tucked away on Market Lane, Paradiso is a place in which it is hard not to smile, relax and enjoy good food in a setting that offers indoor and outdoor dining in the centre of the city.
You’ll always receive the warmest of welcomes from Giuseppe or one of his team.

There are a wide range of dishes on offer in a menu that has something for everyone. Recently my wife and I tried one of Mario’s Paradiso Cocktails – a Mai Tai – delicious and wow they packed a punch, no half measures here. I was tantalised by the choice of starters - I really wanted 3 but in the end went for the classic Paradiso Fishcake with fennel, sweet chilli sauce & yoghurt and followed this with the Chicken Risotto. My Wife selected the Spinach & Ricotta Tart to start, followed by Orecchiette Pugliese. Highly successful choices indeed – our food was simply delicious. With this we had an excellent bottle of Passimento.

This is a place where you are free to set your own pace – you can call in for a quick snack or spend more leisurely time over a meal whilst enjoying the background buzz of a very popular eaterie. It is also the ideal venue for groups and parties – I speak from happy experience!

There are few places in the City that offer the type of welcome and the relaxed setting that keeps bringing you back – probably one of the reasons why it has such a loyal customer base.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sig_antonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We went on 16th June and couldn't fault it! The food was just gorgeous and piping hot and Guiseppe was a fabulous host and made us feel very welcome... if you are ever visiting Newcastle and you want Italian (even though they do Morroccan also), I'd highly recommend it. It's a little hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradiso also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing