We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great night at Paradiso”
Review of Paradiso

Paradiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Paradiso Newcastle - NORTH EAST RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016 As voted by the Food Awards England. One of those restaurants you'll discover by word of mouth rather than by walking past, Paradiso is a local family run restaurant that has been a mainstay on the Newcastle gastro scene for 20 years. Tucked away down Market Lane, Paradiso is a hidden treasure. The restaurant is split into three main floors. The first floor, which is also the main seating floor seats up to 60, has a bar and a spacious outdoor terrace for alfresco dining. The second floor contains the open-plan kitchen and another seating area, which is able to seat up to 50. This floor is smaller than the first floor, but is still capable of holding large parties with ease, and again, we can accommodate parties of any size and number. If you require more privacy, our third floor is a private dining room which can seat up to 45. As this room features skylights, it is a bright, warm space and is spacious enough to be used for any kind of event, such as dining, presentations and so on.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great night at Paradiso”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had another great night at Paradiso last Saturday night, it was a family members 60th Birthday , so we asked Giuseppe if we could use the upper floor area for our Party, We had a great night, 26 of us, food perfect, drinks and wine list great and the service was really good too, even though they were really busy on the other 2 floors all our needs and requests where met, Even though we were a descent size party of 26 when the food started to arrive we were all served in just a couple of minutes, Would highly recommend this restaurant even if it just a quiet meal for two or if you are planning a family gathering and need somewhere that can accommodate a large party of people without having to book a room out at a Hotel, try it for yourself and have a great night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    188
    75
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Went there with a group of six forn evening meal, based on the good rating achieved on this very website.

It wasn't bad, but I certainly wouldn't rank it as high as 16 of 843 restaurants, and for what is was, I'd say it was over-priced. The dessert was very silly; tasty, but such a small portion that it lasted only two mouthfuls, and looked like a slice of soreen.

It was also incredibly noisy, with a private party on the floor above making more noise than St. James's Park.

In summary - it's average. If you go there expecting anything more, you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I went there on Monday night early, on my own and I was the only customer! The waiter was friendly and the food was lovely. I had seafood linguine, it was fresh, tasty with plenty of seafood. Great value for money and a good experience. The house wine was better than average too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mtdestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant Food”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The food at Paradiso was admittedly very pleasant, but what struck me most was the unusual layout of the restaurant. Flights and flights of stairs, each leading to a relatively small floor space with a few tables. Unfortunately, where we sat, there was a fan built into the brickwork of the wall, which let in the icy December wind straight onto our table, but aside from this, the service and food was up to standard. For the price, you can't really complain.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Treble7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great party venue.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We attended a birthday party at this restaurant last night and was very impressed wwith the restaurant across the board. We had a party of 30 of all ages and not one complaint. Great food, great service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TCMuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradiso also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing