We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat in Paradiso !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradiso

Paradiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Paradiso Newcastle - NORTH EAST RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016 As voted by the Food Awards England. One of those restaurants you'll discover by word of mouth rather than by walking past. Tucked away down Market Lane, Paradiso is a hidden treasure. The restaurant is split into three main floors. The first floor, which is also the main seating floor seats up to 60, has a bar and a spacious outdoor terrace for alfresco dining. The second floor contains the open-plan kitchen and another seating area, which is able to seat up to 50. This floor is smaller than the first floor, but is still capable of holding large parties with ease, and again, we can accommodate parties of any size and number. If you require more privacy, our third floor is a private dining room which can seat up to 45. As this room features skylights, it is a bright, warm space and is spacious enough to be used for any kind of event, such as dining, presentations and so on.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Eat in Paradiso !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Paradiso !
Great staff and a good choice dishes all freshly prepared.
Interesting decor with bare brick walls.
The World Cup on TV so even though we weren't interested in this, it did make it seemed that we were in Italy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    182
    71
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We used to come here constantly when we lived on Newcastle. It was always great - for lunch, brunch, dinner, drinks (great sun deck out at the back)
Three of us for lunch today - mussels in chilli & tomato sauce, chicken with a delicious stuffing, & a simple Milanese sandwich - all fantastic. Just the tastiest food we've all had in ages, & we eat out a lot! Great, warm & cheerful service. We'll return very soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

With the recent spate of good weather I've been looking at restaurants with outside dining areas and was recommended to try Paradiso. What a smart move that was.The welcome was friendly without being too effusive. Loved the balcony setting. On looking at the menu for the lunch time specials was interesrted to see a starter of Ox Tongue! I asked how this was served to be told it is fried in butter and I should try it. If I didn't like it I could have a second choice. I decided to give it a go and when it arrived not only did it look good, the taste was incredible. Best starter I've ever had. I could repeated it as my main course but had to make do with the chicken I had already ordered which was very good anyway.
Good service, great food at a very reasonable price. Roll on more sunny days at Paradiso.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let down by poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went roughly 2 months ago with friends who had heartily recommended it and I have to say I was a disappointed... Since I don't really drink wine I went for a mojito that was average, really. My starter was lovely but my friend's wasn't, which ruined the moment a little. My vegetarian main was so bland I had to add so much salt I thought it might give me a heart attack. We stayed for a couple more drinks but all the way through, the waiter was a little bit rude and mostly did not seem to be bothered about the 3 tables he had. He was offhand when taking our order and checking back, as if there was no way we could be unhappy with the food...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday evening. Restaurant wasn't busy. Food excellent service friendly and efficient. Paid £38 including service charge for 2 course and 3 course meal and large glass of wine. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PG14142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradiso also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing