We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Spirit of Deltic
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Good hotel for overnight stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2019via mobile
Booked the Hampton for an overnight stay as we wanted to be close to Central Station. The hotel delivered everything I needed for a good night's sleep and breakfast. The bed was comfortable. Good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast although struggling to keep everything replenished but tables quickly cleared and cleaned meant no queuing. Room of adequate size with plenty of hanging and some drawer space. WiFi good for email and social media. Good bar food in the evenings which is reasonably priced. Would definitely return for similar overnight stay. Great value!
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelleT4911, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newcastle, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Hi yhi904
Thanks for taking time out to leave a review of your recent stay in Newcastle. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that the hotel delivered everything expected. It is fab to hear that you will return. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
£79
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £57
  • Hotels.com
    £79
0.0 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£41
  • Vio.com
4.6 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free parking
£88
  • Expedia.com
    £89
  • CrownePlaza.com
    £76
  • Priceline
    £88
0.2 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £81
  • Hotels.com
    £90
0.2 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £79
  • Priceline
    £99
0.6 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £31
  • Vio.com
    £26
  • Algotels
    £51
0.5 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Hotels.com
    £92
1.0 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £71
  • Algotels
    £64
  • Priceline
    £71
0.3 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £89
  • Vio.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £89
0.3 miles from Hampton by Hilton Newcastle
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveller rating
1,037
673
224
76
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,037
673
224
76
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great location waffle maker complimentary breakfast self service corner room city centre excellent hotel minute walk sofa bed car park top floor great shower beans buffet style cooked breakfast would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed overnight and had a comfortable spacious room on the second floor. Bed very comfy and bathroom smart and clean, the complimentary toiletries are fixed to the walls but seem good quality products. Decent breakfast all self service, took a few minutes to get my bearings but they are updating the breakfast area so might explain why you just wander up select your choice of food and then go and find yourself a spare table.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DavidC936
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelleT4911, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2019

Hi David
Thanks for taking the time out to write a review of your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton Newcastle. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed a really decent stay in our hotel.
Breakfast at Hampton is a self service buffet with a great choice of hot and cold food options. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the buffet room, and have a temporary breakfast area set up at the bottom of the restaurant seating area. We are super excited to see our fabulous new breakfast area taking shape, and hope to welcome you back soon to see the changes.

Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends, no parking which isn’t great but the station is directly opposite & car parking a little further away. Doesn’t look much from the outside, entrance lobby is a lift to first floor where reception, bar & breakfast area is all in one space. Strange security system that requires you to use your room card before using lift which is a bit inconvenient but does stop anyone from outside gaining access to the hotel via lift. Check in was quick & staff pleasant, our hotel on 5th floor was clean & spacious with 2 large comfortable beds overlooking the station. No bath but a large walk in shower with toiletries, the sliding door is the door for a small wardrobe too. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room, coffee was all decaff, should be a mixture. We met in the bar area before going out, comfy chairs & plenty of room, lots of nearby restaurants & bars, security on door checking names on coming back. Breakfast was nice, vegetarian sausages available on request, lots of choice, although the only eggs were scrambled & not the best scrambled eggs really, however there was plenty of other options. Room had been cleaned when we returned from our day in Newcastle, overall this is a nice hotel, good value for money & prime position for sightseeing or shopping in the city, would definitely return & recommend.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank millypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelleT4911, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2019

Hi millypink,

Thanks for leaving a fab review of your recent stay. It is great to have your feedback, and the team are thrilled that you enjoyed a great time at our hotel. It's wonderful to hear that you will return to stay in the future, and will recommend the hotel to friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

Stayed here for the weekend 28th- 30th June...well situated right across from train station....loads of restaurants & bars round about.
lovely room although there was a big crack in the bathroom sink was a bit disappointing...also there was 3 of us in the room and there was only 2 cups for tea / coffee plus 2 glasses in the bathroom for brushing teeth asked at reception for another one and they said we would get one ASAP....never arrived.....
Breakfast was lovely full English...all different cereals plus cold buffet .
Security was fantastic....the lifts were operated with your room key ...and late at night there was security guards taken your name & room numbers....
Overall great weekend

Room tip: Late at night could get noisy so would recommend asking for a room high up.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelleT4911, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2019

Hi Sandra
Thanks for leaving feedback following your stay. We love that you had an overall fabulous time in the Toon! Thank you for letting us know about the shortfalls in our service this weekend. We are sorry that we missed some of the little (but super important) things for you. Please be assured that we have addressed the points directly with the housekeeping and maintenance teams, ensuring future guests don't have the same experience.
I do hope that you will return to stay with us at Hampton by Hilton again.

Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019 via mobile

I stayed here last night with my daughter for a night out in Newcastle..
The room was clean tidy and comfortable beds.
It was very central and perfect for a night out and shopping. It wasn’t noisy at all either.
The breakfast was good,and served until 11am.
I will stay here again highly recommend

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vickypaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelleT4911, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi Vickypaint,

Thanks for leaving a review of your recent stay. It is always fabulous to hear from our guests, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed a great night out in Newcastle with your daughter, and enjoyed the hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you will stay with us again and will recommend the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019

My sister and I stayed 4 nights in this hotel. It was a great stay. Ideally located right across the street from the train station, especially if you might be making day trips in the area. The rooms were very clean and efficient. I loved the walk in shower. A bountiful free morning breakfast makes this a value priced place to stay ideal for those wanting comfort, cleanliness and a friendly staff. Thank you, Hampton by Hilton.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Coco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews