We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's simple.....YOU CAN'T FIND BETTER !!!”
Review of Caffe Zonzo

Caffe Zonzo
Ranked #156 of 1,262 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's simple.....YOU CAN'T FIND BETTER !!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If it is simply fantastic authentic Italian food you want to experience in a relaxed atmosphere then this is the very best!!!!
I have been lucky enough to travel the world ....... I spent a lot of my childhood experiencing Italy ..... I grew up eating my Italian grandmothers wonderful cooking.
I am, I believe, qualified enough to tell you that THIS IS THE VERY BEST AUTHENTIC ITALIAN FOOD YOU WILL FIND ANYWHERE!!
Just as important is the welcome you receive from the staff whom are obviously all part of one family.
There is a genuine passion in this family for this business. You can taste it in the food.
There is simply no compromise anywhere.
If you are in Newcastle don't miss the experience, I promise you will love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlocitrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    45
    11
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a great restaurant! The staff were wonderfully accommodating and warm and welcoming. My meal was ver nice. Thanks for a lovely time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than your average italian bistro”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

If you haven't already tried Caffe Z's you don't know what you're missing
From your basic peasant supper meals to superb main courses
Great pizzas and authentic rustic breads
Reasonably priced and good service
Family oriented all welcome
The only downside they close relatively early

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful decor”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is the place for a good and affordable meal out. Beautiful decor, airy and stylish, and friendly service. It is, of course, the food that makes a restaurant worthwhile, and the authentic Sardinian dishes served at Cafe Zonzo are always excellent. Last night, I started with the Buffalo Mozzarella, plum tomatoes and salad, which was delicious. I then chose the tuna, which was seared perfectly and covered with an unusual bean sauce. Really very good indeed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place for lunch”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a good lunch at Cafe Zonzo. Received friendly welcome and attentive service throughout. Flexibility meant all of us were able to eat and enjoy our meal even with fussy eaters in our party. Loved my chicken liver starter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Zonzo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Caffe Zonzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing