We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Zonzo

Caffe Zonzo
Ranked #159 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,560 reviews
1,193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 808 helpful votes
“Real Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Italian owners come from a little town south of Rome and have resided in this old Cooperative wholesale butcher shop in Sandyford, Newcastle what seems forever. In fact, you could be forgiven if you thought Franco the owner was just over on holiday until he speaks to you with his soft, subtle Geordie accent. They own not only Cafe Zonzo but the entire building and their passion for food is endless, that’s why I give this peach of a restaurant 5 stars. If you’re on a small budget try the ‘peasants lunch’ available from £3.95 every day until 6.30pm. Please push the boat out though and sample their simple but highly flavoured home-made pastas and pizzas, divine. We had crostone con fegato - toasted garlic-rubbed home baked rustic bread, topped with chicken liver sautéed with white wine and fresh sage with a side of honey roast parsnips and carrots finished with the wobbliest berries panna cota and washed down with chilled Italian cider. This is as good as authentic Italian cuisine gets in Newcastle. Oh and 5 star Italian cappuccino IN A SMALL CUP too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    44
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Food is always fantastic and keenly priced. The rosemary and salt flatbread is delicious! Good selection and the peasants' lunch is great value. I would like to see a carbonara dish though....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cheap yet quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely fantastic value! The Peasants menu at £3.95 is brilliant, different choices too as well as a great range, not just standard pizza, Bolognese etc. I had meatballs with penne and the sauce was delicious. Service was very pleasant although maybe a little slow. But an evening with friends meant it didn't affect our evening at all. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LYPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous friendly Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have eaten here on many occasions but after not visiting for a while (probably a couple of years!) we went for a nice family lunch and I have to say the food was just as fabulous as ever. Authentic Italian cuisine at very reasonable prices and excellent homemade Italian puds! The staff were excellent with the children and couldn't have been friendlier - great service. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our family favourite, never bettered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Now that I'm writing this I am wondering why on earth I haven't done it sooner! We have been eating here since before my children were born (my eldest is 10) and I can say hand on heart I have never not enjoyed a meal. We came as a couple, we came with babies in car seats, with young noisy toddlers, and now with restaurant- savvy children who really know their good food and request Zonzo every Saturday! We haunt this cafe most Saturday lunchtimes and enjoy the occasional meal without the kids on an evening too. The food is absolutely delicious (and very very reasonably priced). We have our favourite dishes but have tried most things over the years and all are packed with flavour and cooked to perfection. The cafe itself is a lovely environment to spend time in, with quirky pieces of art and great background music. However the best thing about this place (other than the food of course!) is the family who own and run it. Nina and family, you have five stars from us every time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Zonzo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Been to Caffe Zonzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing