We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still tasty”
Review of Kafeneon

Kafeneon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly family run restaurant, with a warm atmosphere and amazing freshly prepared food. Great for any occasion so give it a try!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“still tasty”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we went there the Friday before the bank holiday weekend
we sat outside
we were served quickly and efficiently
i had my usual chicken souvlaki with chips and salad
always lovely, my girlfriend had the moussaka which although nice
wasn't the same as it has been
don't know if it's the recipe or just the way it's presented
used to come in it's own dish now served on the plate with everything else
more the taste i think?
still when it's a sunny day and you are having a lovely relaxed meal
little things don't reallyy matter
try a Neon sundae for a desert, lurverly.
i still recommend Kafeneon as a place for a relaxed meal/

Dave & Lynne

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    119
    31
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a must eat here place”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Four of us ate here on a Wednesday evening and all had the mezze, each dish was fantastic and we are back for more tomorrow :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 981traveller981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for a cheeky stop off.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Went as a couple, staff were really pleasant, food was tasty, not amazing but very nice and very reasonably priced! Definitely recommend for a couples casual visit or friends, nothing smart or serious though. Really nice overall atmosphere and a 5* experience. Excellent experience overall :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murrellzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favourite resturant in Newcastle”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I always bring people here, both lunchtime and dinner time and they are so accommodating and so nice. Everyone is always stunned at how gorgeous the food is, and the range is growing all the time. Despite so many choices, I nearly always go for my favourite chicken souvalki or the mezze if someone will share with me!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Myself and some of my family stopped here early evening for a meal after a day out and were very impressed. The service was excellent, and my wife and I had the meze for two which was superb, however it's probably best not to order a starter if you want the meze as there is a very large amount of food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kafeneon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Kafeneon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing