We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious”
Review of Piccolinos

Piccolinos
Ranked #186 of 1,261 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$31 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Chic yet relaxed, Piccolino restaurants are a collection of Italian neighbourhood restaurants with delicious brasserie-style cuisine. Using fresh, seasonal produce, rustic yet classic Italian dishes are served in a contemporary setting at Piccolino. Many restaurants feature popular al fresco dining areas, where diners can experience fine Italian fare and cocktails.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Over the top maître d' who sat us by the window (like everyone else while we were there!). The clientele on the next table was very loud but the head waiter did not consider our comfort but the restaurant's need to look full- so we moved ourselves away from the noise.When my husband asked what lagers they had the maître d' showed off in such a snotty way reeling off a whole list- so my embarrassed husband selected Moretti; funnily enough the lager did not arrive and neither did the maître d'; eventually my husband asked a member of staff what had happened to his lager to be told they did not have any Moretti! Service was slow. My glass of water (to go with my glass of wine) never arrived.The food was very average whereas prices were a little high.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    165
    84
    59
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service Appauling”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went to piccolinos yesterday with my wife, son & daughter for fathers day. Arrived on time for our 3 o'clock booking, was surprised to see the restaurant less than half full. There were plenty of tables for 4 next to the windows but we were added to the main set of tables that run through the center of the restaurant. where the space between our party and the party's either side was too close together. I had to call the waiter over after 12 mins to take our drinks order as we had still not been attended to. We then ordered our food once they came the starters were very nice, however when they brought the mains my son and daughter had ordered the steak with a side portion of chips, the waiter said ill be right back with the chips. halfway to the kitchen area he got into conversation with another table and began sharing a joke as he was laughing a lot. i could not get his attention. i did then get the managers attention and told him we were still waiting for the side orders, he then went and got them himself. i told him it was now 7 mins from the steak arriving to the chips coming, this type of service is unacceptable. he did give us deserts free of charge, however we would have preferred to receive all the food together so it is hot. There are a lot of nice restaurants on the quay side. we will not be going back to piccolinos again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mick464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Visited lady night lovely place just behind the quayside . Starter garlic tomato bread was lovely . Husbands fillet steak was fab , my tuna, scallop and king prawn skewers were over cooked and dry , as were both portions of chips . Such a shame as piccolinos in York was lovely .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelxxnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I had a great experience at Piccolinios, for an evening meal.
Good food, attentive service and a wonderful atmosphere.
After started, we each had a tasty pizza accompanied by a side salad.
Would recommend for the food, service and location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mrs_G_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I loved this restaurant the staff are very friendly and helpfull with a sense of humour,the food was fantastic,the decor is great.11 out of 10 for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolinos also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Piccolinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing