We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved”
Review of Trillians Rockbar

Trillians Rockbar
Ranked #373 of 1,266 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Improved”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

It's true that its scruffy, the floors sticky, the toilets r dirty and smelly and the drinks r poor for the price.....however.....we went last Friday night and at least the music was good! Hooray! Classic rock music instead of all that ramstein rubbish!

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gutted”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Been a regular visitor to Trills for many a year and to say I was disappointed last night is an understatement. First thing was the band. It wasn't the music that was the problem (it was a Sabbath tribute band), but the volume. You had to shout to be heard before you even got down the stairs to get it. Next was the floor. It was unbelievably sticky. It was so bad that my wife lost the heal of her boot to the glue like floor. Finally the prices of the poor quality drink. A pint of diet coke and a half a Guinness (talk about a rock and roll lifestyle) came to £4.80. This in place where they obviously don't pay for a cleaner. It has never been the cleanest of places and the bogs have always been terrible, but it had a certain charm. This has gone. GIVE THE PLACE A GOOD CLEAN.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfatbloke71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glad it has been saved but needs to modernise ASAP”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

As a rock/metal fan I have been to Trillians numerous times and used to like it as a live venue and bar. However, it really is a scandal how this place has been run as it is filthy, got grim toilets and a dreadful selection of drinks available which are over priced and of very poor quality especially the draught beers. Why is it assumed that rock/metal fans don't want a good pint of cask ale or glass of decent wine in decent surrounding?

My other main gripe is that it doesn't have a website or social media page with up to date info about bands which are playing.

It just a lazy set up overall and won't survive if it doesn't modernise, the place should be a gold mine as it has history within the NE rock scene and there are any/many other places in Newcastle catering for that market. I wish I had the money and business experience to buy it as I think it would be a great business under savvy management.

Please whoever the new new owners are, read these reviews as Trillians should and could be great again especially with use of appropriate social media promotions whilst just doing the place up and improving the range, quality and price of the beer etc

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shy_Ted2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“open again ? should be shut down period !”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

i love bars that like and have on live music etc, i love rock myself and bands, but this place is bad,
all they like anyway is tributes and they keep putting tributes on all the time (hate them) my last visit will be my last, and its very dirty, and the beer has a lot to be desired, watered down too !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“So glad it's open again!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I always come here when I go out into Newcastle for drinks. Love the music and the decor. (the toilets are pretty gross though, but the stall graffiti is A++)

Drinks are quite expensive, but I don't mind too much. There's not many decent rock bars in Newcastle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sickkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trillians Rockbar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Trillians Rockbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing