We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge selection - service with a smile!”
Review of El Torero

El Torero
Ranked #102 of 1,266 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$31
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge selection - service with a smile!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We've came across this joint accidently and decided to give it a try for our dinner. It was really great - menu is huge, even bigger then most of tapas bar I've visited in Spain, tapas were good, and as an added bonus - all waiters are spanish! If you like tapas, don't miss el torrero!

Helpful?
Thank Saša B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    190
    67
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good quality food. Price of drinks only downside”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited this restaurant on a wet and miserable Newcastle afternoon. The waiter was very kind, taking our wet things to another room whilst we dined. We made the most of the lunchtime (12-5) tapas offer. 3 tapas for £10.95, and this was more than enough for one person, and you can choose from pretty much the entire tapas menu.

Fantastic food, and well worth going to. The only downside was the cost of the drinks. A soft drink cost £3.50. which I can only assume was to balance the cheaper food on offer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Avoid set menus, order individual dishes”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I visited for a birthday party, I was disappointed by the set menu but other guests food looked ok.

The restaurant is a bit shabby but has a nice atmosphere and good location.

Restaurant week was on and there was a cheap offer that the restaurant refused to honor because there were too many of us; that's deliberate exploitation for the sake of profit in my opinion and upset a lot of the guests.

The £15 set menu consisted of some really disgusting additions and was mainly bland food. The nicest thing was the chips with garlic and chilli sauce on; that is a new low for me. A brief list of what you get for £15:
Bread and mayo
Side salad
Broken pizza (bread and tomatos)
Slice of ham
Slice of cheese
Pieces of greasy chorizo
A meat ball
Garlic mushrooms
A prawn (burnt)
A chicken nugget cooked to taste like tinned tuna in brine.
A slice of chicken cooked so it was rock hard and put in creamy sauce.
Some round chips with garlic and chilli sauce.

Overall I was disappointed with my set menu as it was far too expensive for what we got and very bland. Even for the discount price it would have been over priced!

Other guests got individual dishes and got a better deal; the veggies were reasonably happy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre5000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“There are better”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Thought we would try somewhere different and although there was nothing specifically wrong with what we had I still think there are better tapas places in town

Distinctly average all round

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pablo-in-Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Tapas if not restaurant in NCL”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for authentic, amazing tasting food. You need to go here. From the wines to the service to whole set up is great, and the food is absolutely mouth watering. If you want to go in for a small tapas meal go for it or even a large banquet go for it. Best Spanish food in Newcastle, definitely one of the best restaurants in Newcastle.

Helpful?
Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Torero also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to El Torero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing