We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort out your service”
Review of St. Sushi

St. Sushi
Ranked #151 of 1,271 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sort out your service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Sorry about moaning about you're restaurant but I didn't like the service. My wife was given her food and then 10 minutes later I had to ask for mine. Ten minutes later I got mine. Between that I was passed by staff at least 5 times and none of you lot noticed I had no dish. I'll be totally honest I thought your food was a tad embarrasing too. Maybe you had a bad day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpugSafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    104
    28
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best japanese restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am an absolute fan of Japanese food, and I have been to many Japanese restaurant in Europe. I even cook Japanese food at home. Yet, st Sushi has proven again and again to deliver the best Japanese food I have ever tasted.

Service: The service is nothing but great. The waitresses are always polite, professional and efficient. I have a food intolerance which has proven a challenge in many restaurants, but not here! They are always careful and considerate, never had a problem! The waiting time is also a non issue, as even when the restaurant is full (and it is a very popular restaurant) they always manage to deliver the food within an appropriate waiting time.

Food: I go to both st Sushi restaurants in town and I was never disappointed. The food is an absolute delight. I went there many times with all sorts of people (family, friends boyfriend) and everyone agrees on the excellency of the menu and the chefs. Fresh ingredients, superb execution and a wide variety of traditional foods to choose from. Just great!

Value and cost: The sushi can be a bit expensive, but do believe me when I say it is VERY good. There are also many other foods and menu special sets that include sushi (like bento boxes) that are very affordable (a bento box for lunch is around 7pounds, and includes sushi, miso soup, rice and the chosen main food). They even have a delivery service, which I have also used, and the food is equally good.

Atmosphere: It could have a bit more of a Japanese "feel" to it, but it is still pleasant, warm and clean. No fuss about it.


All in all this is not just my favorite Japanese restaurant, it is my favorite restaurant in Newcastle Upon Tyne. I would recommend it to everyone (I actually do take everyone I know there).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raquel_Guerreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good ”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Top place for Sushi and the like ... No grumbles here ... Good service. I had the salmon Bento box ... Very tasty indeed will be back ...

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi restaurant in the North east”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I visit St Sushi a lot, so I though I should make it my first TripAdvisor review. The sharing sets are wonderful, we usually have the Tokyo set which is a mixed sushi and sashimi set. The smaller sides such as the fried squid and jellyfish salad (not always available), are delicious. It's fantastic value for money and the service is always impeccable. The wine list is also good, and the atmosphere is relaxing and laid back. One of my favourite restaurants ever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super Tasty Sushi”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Easily one of my favourite restaurants. My favourite meal is the Salmon Teriyaki Bento Box which is amazing! St sushi is the best place to go for sushi in Newcastle and there is a huge choice on the menu (I'd recommend the St Sushi ISO). I don't often have deserts in restaurants but out of curiosity I ordered the Tempura Fried Ice Cream and it was actually really tasty! Green tea is unlimited refills too which is a real bonus. Staff are friendly and service is always very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherbetunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Sushi also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to St. Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing