We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Sushi

St. Sushi
Ranked #176 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“St Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came here a few weeks ago after deciding against popping to yo sushi where we had been before. I am so glad we did. Not really knowing much about sushi and what we were looking at, the girl on the counter seemed really friendly and pointed out the happy hour deal menu and we went inside. We ordered 2 bentos boxes and when they arrived we were both very impressed. The food was excellent and more than sufficient for us! It was a great value deal and we will definitely come here again when we are in the area. I ordered a fruit milk with the jelly bubbles with the offer. Amazing! Something I will definitely have again, and so many flavours to choose from. A great experience which I have no complaints about.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carlotta-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    100
    27
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A sushi restaurant that lives up to word of mouth reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Me and my wife paid a visit to St Sushi as I’ve always wanted to try this restaurant and find an alternative to my usual haunt.

We went for a bit of everything and tried the Mini Vegetable Tempura, Nasu Dengaku, Yasai Gyoza, St Sushi Maki, Sashimi Mix and Ebi Tempura. All the dishes were delicious and the fish was perfectly fresh. It was the Nasu Dengaku and St Sushi Maki that stood out, the grilled aubergine was perfectly cooked and the miso paste gave it a delicate salty sweet flavour making this a must dish. The St Sushi maki was heaven, the use of more salmon than rice was ideal for me and coupled with the fact the fish was so fresh it was a wonder!!

The service was polite, efficient and there was always a waitress nearby if you needed anything. For me, the interior needs a bit of an overhaul. The eating area is a mixed bag, it tries to be relaxed but has ended up looking like a downtrodden diner with the entrance being directly next to several tables, not ideal.

I would definitely visit again but only if I have a discount voucher as the dining area lets it down, a real shame considering the sushi is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quality sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I eat here really regularly due to the really high quality sushi that is served here. All food is prepared freshly with quality ingredients and the menu choice is extensive. Service is quick and friendly - highly recommended for authentic Japanese food

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clairesamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Quality Sushi & Sashimi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a wonderful treat! St.Sushi pleased us all with their delicious, fresh and perfectly prepared sushi & sashimi. Lovely presentation, polite and efficient service. Nice setting and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Venus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited on 15th. June 2014 and had the set menu. Every course was well presented, fresh and delicious.
The service was friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of food and the overall dining experience.
Also the drinks are reasonable in contrast to most restaurants.
The one word of warning is if you get the set menu, make sure you are really hungry as the food just does not seem to stop coming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank advisorfan2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Sushi also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to St. Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing