We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck is the best”
Review of Chinatown Express

Chinatown Express
Ranked #402 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Duck is the best”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Come here all the time, food is phenomenal, the roast duck in soy sauce is lush, very nice staff, quick service as well, you wouldn't think it was good as the appearance is a bit shabby but it's a diamond.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragonflyboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    52
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants for 15+ years”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Given it's location right near St. James' Park, I have been coming to Chinatown Express for well over 15 years and I've never once had a bad meal!

Don't let the appearance put you off. It's not the best looking restaurant especially in comparison to others in china town, but the food more than makes up for it.

Very quick and extremely good value, just not "up market" but there are a host of other places for that!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“I wouldn't consider another Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Chinatown Express has become my Chinese restaurant of choice. Certainly not for the decor or ambience. You will often have to wait for a table, there can't be more than about 8 tables in the restaurant and it looks a bit grim. However the food is fresh, tasty and probably the best Chinese food I've had.

Lunch is the best value as they have a set menu including a starter and main course. Dinner is still very reasonable, for two people budget £20-25. Soft drinks are served in cans, prawn crackers in plastic bags, and the food will come out whenever its ready.

Good portion sizes, reasonable prices and very tasty food. I often stop by for a take away now. The only thing that annoys me is that they don't offer a discount for take away, the prices are the same as eating inside, however, like I said it's really not a high end restaurant and this might put some people off.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good quick lunch”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Chinatown Express has been a mainstay of the Stowell Street area for years now, and seems to be able to achieve consistency in the quality of its output.

Like many of the restaurants in the area, it caters to more Western tastes as well as accommodating a broad range of more traditional Chinese dishes. There is a brief express lunch menu (2 courses for £5.30), and a much longer full menu (with loads of variety). Today I had the salt & pepper wings, and the spicy shredded beef from the lunch menu - very tasty. The portions on the express menu aren't huge, but should suffice for most lunch requirements, and the service was swift and friendly. It should be noted that the portions are pretty large on the main menu - you see a lot of people sharing dishes.

It always seems to be busy, but I haven't ever had to wait very long for a table. The takeaways I have had from here have always been good as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffWoade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and cheap prices”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've been here several times with my friends. I have tried the sweet and sour soup, the chicken dishes, the pork and some of the noodles. Everything is good. However, one of the noodles (the one that my friend ordered, but unfortunately I forgot the name), it was tasteless.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melanieang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown Express also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Chinatown Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing