We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful takeaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khans

Khans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went to Khan's for a takeaway tonight to take advantage of their current 25% off collection orders. We had heard good things about this place and have dying to give it a try and it did not disappoint! We ordered a chicken tikka balti (my fave) and it was gorgeous! Sooo flavoursome and yummy! We also had lamb bhuna which was melt in the mouth. Sundries were also lovely! I would definitely recommend as great value for money, the portions were huge without compromising quality! We can't wait to try the mid week buffet :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    49
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb curry and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Visited khans with friends and family and was blown away with the quality and flavour of there curry, really was taken back, we were allowed to take in our own alcohol which was a nice touch, an absolute A* service with really friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Most defiantly coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdaLena_G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ordered a take out meal from Khan's last night. The tikka chicken was dry and far too salty. The nan bread was old and rubbery. The korma dish was barely about edible. Most of the meal went in the bin.

The food tasted like it had been sitting around for a good while and reheated.

Very disappointed as this place was chosen after reading reviews which were favourable.

Never again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allie-Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky K, General Manager at Khans, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Allie-Beth,

We are extremely sorry to here about your negative takeout meal experience from us at Khan's. I can assure you however that all of our food is cooked fresh to order with the finest of ingredients. I could not make out from your comments whether it was a collection order or delivery order, but as many of our customers are aware, our nan breads are made upon arrival of any collection orders, to help ensure they are as fresh as possible in order to sustain the quality of the naan. I can only assume that your order may have taken a while between the time of leaving the restaurant to the time taken to eat the meal for it to have a 'rubbery' texture.

Our Chicken Tikka and Korma dishes are very popular dishes amongst our clients, and we have had very few complaints about these particular dishes over the 13 year period we have been established. This leads me to believe that it is a very rare occurrence, which we deeply regret has been experienced by you.

Please accept our sincere apologies and I would kindly ask that you email me your contact details at khans-restaurant@live.co.uk and I will personally be in touch to fully discuss the issues surrounding the takeout so we can ensure we deal with your complaint fully, and that this does not occur again.

At Khan's we fully respect our customers opinion, and although the feedback we receive from our clients is almost all positive, we are fully committed to dealing with all complaints no matter how small. This will no doubt assist us with our primary target - for all our customers to enjoy a delicious and satisfying Khan's experience.

Kindest regards
Ricky Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent! One of the best! Really worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We came here October 2012, after reading some good reviews on here. This is one of the best I.M.O!

The food was excellent. Proper Tandoori chicken! Ooooohhhh...!!!
Excellent service, excellent atmosphere and excellent staff!
It cost around £100 for 4 adults eating a starter, main and desert inc. a few drinks and a tip!
All Indian restaurants should be this good. Unfortunately they are not!

My only negative point is "you are NOT nearer to Leeds!"

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Little choice of alchoholic drinks (wine only).
Even though it was quiet, the service was quite slow. Food was ok, more sauce than anything else, but enough meat as well. Great nan bread (in more than one sense, they were huge!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khans also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing