We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic, chic, clean and well maintained gem of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda B
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic, chic, clean and well maintained gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The cottage is well maintained and on arrival we were warmly greeted. The kitchen is well stocked with all you could hope for and more as provisions for breakfast, wine and chocolates were waiting for us, On awakening the second morning we discovered a power cut had tripped out the boiler but after a phone call, the owner was there in minutes and sorted it for us. Braunston is a beautiful village with things to see and plenty of places to eat and Information was given to us comprehensively in leaflets and verbally from the owners, The hot tub was clean and well maintained and private.
I would recommend the cottage to anyone and feel the owners are some of the nicest people you could meet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well maintained layout and location
Liked least: Creaky stairs
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moowards
PLYMOUTH
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Braunston Mill Cottage for a 3 night stay as a suprise for my Husbands birthday, I had read some of the negative views but went ahead and booked it anyway as majority of the reviews were excellent. We arrived quite late as we were working until 4pm on the Fri and set off straight from work from Plymouth. Simon greeted us when we arrived and showed us round the cottage, explained how to use the hot tub and where all the local pubs and attractions were. The cottage is finished to a very high standard, the kitchen/diner was laid out with wine, flowers and chocolates which was a lovely touch. It is very quiet in the village ideal just for unwinding and relaxing, the bed was extremely comfortable and we slept really well, no traffic to wake us up at the crack of dawn!!
The hot tub was amazing would recommend it to anyone, lovely and warm and so relaxing well worth the small extra charge for its use. The local pub (the one nearest) served home made delicious food although it was very quiet in there so it you want something a bit livelier this isn't the place for you. We had a lovely walk down by the canal checking out the barges and are thinking of doing a barge holiday next year as they looked really nice.
If I had anything negative to say about the cottage which are only minor flaws I hasten to add... is that the frying pan wasn't very good for eggs and that the downstairs bathroom is a little on the small side. On the plus side the cottage is beautiful, quiet and relaxing and the owners are really friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone in fact my friends are staying there in Feb 2012 as I was raving about it so much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laney-and...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2nd Visit...says it all :o)”
Reviewed 22 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Second visit this year. We were worried about coming here after reading one or two bad reviews but I have to say that for us, they were totally unfounded. The hosts were friendly and courteous and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. The hot tub is great and the cottage is a wonderfully quaint mixture of traditional shell with modern design. It is quite small, but that just added to the charm. We were very happy to return and would again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool...
north west, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Romantic - A perfect getaway...”
Reviewed 8 September 2010 for a stay in August 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Hello...you must be considering a stay at the Braunston Cottage to be reading this review...all I can say is, book & go. You will not regret this. Me & my husband went for a 4 night stay to getaway from work pressures...Very presentable, clean, perfect location, friendly people. We loved the use of the hot-tub (this really is great on an evening after your evening meal. We could recommend the canal boat for breakfast (5 min walk) and the boat house for evening meal (2 4 1 offer) also a 5 min walk. Simon & sandie are lovely people and extremely welcoming...I read some previous reviews regarding the cleaning (from top to toe before you leave), this is NOT the case. You do not have to clean before you leave, all it states is that you leave as you found (cleaners are hired for this purpose) We found this stay to be so romantic, needless to say we will be returning soon. Thankyou Simon & Sandie xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyDv7
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend in a stunning cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I went away for the first time on our own since our honeymoon and stayed in the mill cottage. On arrival we were met by the owner Simon who was extremely helpful and showed us around the cottage. It was a lovely touch being given all the information of places to go in the village as you usually have to find your own way around. All you have to take with you is a toothbrush and a change of clothes as everything else it provided for you (Shampoo, towels, bread and even milk). We thought the charge of £10 for the hot tub was fair as I can see why some people would find it unfair having to pay for the use of the tub when they have not used it. Overall, we had a wonderful relaxing break away, it was a shame having to return home. We will definately be booking another stay at the cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oapatlarg...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay at the Mill Cottage and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing break. The cottage is furnished to a a high standard and the attention to detail is second to none. The owners made us feel totally welcome and we were advised to call them if we had ANY problems, which we didn't. The whole atmosphere makes one feel that you are in your own home and indeed my husband had to remind me that this wasn't the case when I started to remove dead leaves from the outside plants!! We enjoyed using the hot tub and feel that the £10 per use is very acceptable. We certainly
hope to return and maybe book the Mill itself next time. Thanks to Simon and Sandie for enabling us to have quality time in a quality setting.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing