We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil A
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent a fantastic week in the cottage (not the mill) - what a beautiful location and superb accommodation. Lots of nice touches from Simon and Sandie - very helpful and not at all intrusive. Some gorgeous villages around the area (Ashby St Ledgers is just beautiful) and lots of canals, country pubs and places to eat. Handy for cities too. But above all, the cottage was just so relaxing - just what we needed. Will definitely look to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your very special stay and are proud that you chose Mill Cottage for the start of your married life. We hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam04770
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Returned from Mill Cottage last week and just want to say what an amazing place to stay. Was welcomed by Simon and Sandie and given lots of information regarding places to eat and local amenities. The cottage was immaculate with all mod-cons and lots of supplies so rushing off to the shop wasn't the first thing we had to do. Regarding cleaning, the cottage was exceptionally clean and therefor I think it only right you leave it as such. Will definitely book again. Thanks for a great break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
Thank you so much for your review on Mill Cottage we really hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy C
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful country retreat”
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Braunston Mill cottage, where to start!
We were greeted by Simon upon arrival, he was friendly and courteous, told us about the facilities available in and around Braunston, which was very informative. He then left us to it :)
Little touches around the cottage stood out complimentary chocolates and wine, flowers, and the basics you need for hot drinks and breakfast :) was a real added bonus.
I fell for the village as we arrived, and walking up the driveway up to the mill and mill cottage is stunning, well looked
after gardens, very picturesque.
The cottage it's self is lovely outside and in, decorated to a high standard,yet comfortable, amazing bath, comfy bed, can't fault it.
Enjoyed pottering around the village, a lovely canal boat a 15minuts walk away served yummy snacks and breakfast, and the village shop was well equippe.

Plenty of nice local pubs- we did fine without a car all weekend.

I could go on and on about this place, it was brilliant.
Nothing negative to say.

Nice owners, nice cottage, nice village

A million miles from work and the stress of life.
Will definitely go back!

:-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
It is so wonderful to read of your experience of your stay at Mill Cottage. We are so pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. Your comments on the gardens are so welcome especially after such a wet summer and the tornado that hit us recently! Lets hope the weather improves so we can at last get the gardens back to even better shape!
Hope to see you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic, chic, clean and well maintained gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The cottage is well maintained and on arrival we were warmly greeted. The kitchen is well stocked with all you could hope for and more as provisions for breakfast, wine and chocolates were waiting for us, On awakening the second morning we discovered a power cut had tripped out the boiler but after a phone call, the owner was there in minutes and sorted it for us. Braunston is a beautiful village with things to see and plenty of places to eat and Information was given to us comprehensively in leaflets and verbally from the owners, The hot tub was clean and well maintained and private.
I would recommend the cottage to anyone and feel the owners are some of the nicest people you could meet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well maintained layout and location
Liked least: Creaky stairs
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moowards
PLYMOUTH
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Braunston Mill Cottage for a 3 night stay as a suprise for my Husbands birthday, I had read some of the negative views but went ahead and booked it anyway as majority of the reviews were excellent. We arrived quite late as we were working until 4pm on the Fri and set off straight from work from Plymouth. Simon greeted us when we arrived and showed us round the cottage, explained how to use the hot tub and where all the local pubs and attractions were. The cottage is finished to a very high standard, the kitchen/diner was laid out with wine, flowers and chocolates which was a lovely touch. It is very quiet in the village ideal just for unwinding and relaxing, the bed was extremely comfortable and we slept really well, no traffic to wake us up at the crack of dawn!!
The hot tub was amazing would recommend it to anyone, lovely and warm and so relaxing well worth the small extra charge for its use. The local pub (the one nearest) served home made delicious food although it was very quiet in there so it you want something a bit livelier this isn't the place for you. We had a lovely walk down by the canal checking out the barges and are thinking of doing a barge holiday next year as they looked really nice.
If I had anything negative to say about the cottage which are only minor flaws I hasten to add... is that the frying pan wasn't very good for eggs and that the downstairs bathroom is a little on the small side. On the plus side the cottage is beautiful, quiet and relaxing and the owners are really friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone in fact my friends are staying there in Feb 2012 as I was raving about it so much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laney-and...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2nd Visit...says it all :o)”
Reviewed 22 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Second visit this year. We were worried about coming here after reading one or two bad reviews but I have to say that for us, they were totally unfounded. The hosts were friendly and courteous and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. The hot tub is great and the cottage is a wonderfully quaint mixture of traditional shell with modern design. It is quite small, but that just added to the charm. We were very happy to return and would again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing